We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few teething problems but lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on 6th Nov. The hotel is situated right on the race course...just perfect! When you walk in you will say wow! It's really nice with a huge spacious lobby restaurant and bar area with many comfortable chairs, log effect fires, and flat screen TVs. We were greeted with smart and very friendly staff and given a great room over looking the course. Was a little surprised when visiting the bathroom though. Our toilet had not been cleaned after the last guest, there were stains under the seat and on the floor where he had missed!! Being gold members we have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inns all over the country and never have I seen this before. I know the hotel is very new and obviously you would expect teething troubles so I forgive them this time but having a spotless room is a huge must!, there is nothing more off putting than a dirty loo! Enough of that now. Had a couple of drinks from the bar. Fab staff there serving good quality drinks with a friendly smile and chat.
Had dinner and sat in the restaurant part of the room, very nice we thought but we waited and waited to be served, eventually a very charming young man noticed us and took our orders I chose the fish finger sandwich ( that I couldn't eat as the rocket in the sandwich had not been washed properly there was still grit in it! I told a waiter about it and she kindly apologised and took it off the bill)and my wife had the steak and ale pie. Again we waited ages for it to come and when it did I must say I was hugely disappointed. A poor replacement for the absolutely fabulous fish and chips Holiday Inn did only a couple of weeks ago! However the steak and ale pie was great my wife said! For afters I had the cheese board, a nice selection of cheeses but only THREE biscuits! Now come on you can't be serious!!! You need at least six with all that cheese. My wife ordered the very delicious chocolate pot that she loved! I have to say that over all everything was just about okay but the service painfully slow not just for us but others too! Just seemed like you needed twice as many staff after about 7 o'clock to cope with the dinner rush!
Loved our room and the beds that were so comfortable had a great nights sleep. A fantastic feature in the bathroom where the center of mirror is heated and won't steam up the only trouble is that you have to be about 6'2" to use it!
Breakfast was a bit of a strange event! I came down at 7 when it starts the only trouble was there were no staff to greet you! So guests just got stuck into the food and sat down. At about 7.15 a young lady appeared and came to everyone asking room numbers and if they wanted tea or coffee. Don't know if this is a new way of doing things but I've never seen it before! Must say though the quality of the breakfast was superb! When the staff eventually turned up they were spot on in making sure guests got what they wanted. There are obviously quite a few issues to be addressed at this really lovely hotel and I'm sorry to be so critical about certain things. I'm sure that very soon this Holiday Inn will end up being one of the very best in the country! Can't wait to come back and see it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse.

I would like to apologise for the standards that did not meet the high level we strive to achieve, I have taken steps to ensure that a similar situation will not happen again. We appreciate the time you have taken to give feedback on your visit, as this allows us to look at the service we provide and make improvements, as a new hotel this is very important.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

1st visit to this almost new hotel. Excellent welcome from the reception staff, very friendly and helpful. Room was beautiful, great size room with all new fittings. Open areas very nice, very homely and much improved from other holiday inn,s I have stayed in over the years.

Pricing very good for standards when compared to other hotel chains nearby. Only small negative is the price of breakfast seems a little high, but just own opinion.

Will return

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank dazza2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review regarding you stay at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse, and for your positive remarks regarding our team and facilities. You may have not seen the bedroom rates we offer that include breakfast, when booked in advance they offer a discount on the standard Full English Breakfast price.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great location next to the racecourse - good size room - friendly staff - good food - new open plan lobby almost too big - lots of little areas where you can what TV or be left alone - breakfast looked good - Starbucks coffee - what's not to like. Would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us, I will be feeding back your comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. It's not been open long and everything is new and shiny. I love that in a hotel. The downstairs area isn't like other hotel bars/restaurants. It's all open plan and there are lots of little areas where, even as a female travelling alone, I feel safe and undisturbed by other guests. The menu has a wide choice of really good food and the bar has perfectly chilled beer :) You can definitely get a good night's sleep and can't hear the traffic from the nearby A14. The staff are friendly and keen to help, even if you're just passing through for a meeting. They have a Starbucks in the hotel and the Wi-Fi is free so it's ideal for business meetings too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the racecourse side and you'll be overlooking the winning post
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catwoman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review regarding your experiences at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon – Racecourse. I was pleased to read that your stays have been comfortable and the team has been welcoming.

As a new hotel we welcome all feedback as it assists us in improving the service we offer, I will be pleased to pass on your positive comments to my team. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

New, nice clean big rooms. Check in slow but ok, check out much quicker. Had room sevice which was quick but ham sandwich with mustard had so much mustard you could not eat it. Otherwise stay over night was perfect and would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank JackdawsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon - Racecourse, and for the positive feedback, my apologies the sandwich was not to your liking, I have passed your comments on to our Head Chef.

I hope your travel plans will bring you back to the area in the near future so that we may welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel in the week of opening and it was great. Friendly staff and good facilities. Food in the restaurant was tasty with good selection at the bar. Hotel is very easy to find and baby was catered for too.
Massive bed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andypies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay, I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, I hope you will choose to stay with us again should your travel plans bring you back to Huntingdon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 未見有任何公共交通工具能夠到達酒店
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank calbeedaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.8 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
443 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buckden
322 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Address: Thrapston Road | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range: £56 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Christmas Day package is now available to book. Rate is based on two adults sharing a room.Enjoy a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon - Racecourse, overlooking the scenic racecourse.Holiday Inn Huntingdon - Racecourse is the perfect location to stay whether you're working or travelling for fun. Hinchingbrooke Business Park and the historic Hinchingbrooke House are close by. Cambridge City Centre is easily reached should you need to visit for business or to enjoy a day exploring the many colleges or shopping in the Grand Arcade.Holiday Inn value and comfort come as standard with our 98 stylish and spacious air conditioned bedrooms all with complimentary internet access. Get the chance to discover our revolutionary Open Lobby concept, a place where you can eat, drink, meet and work; really wind down and have fun. It's about being able to do what you want when you want.You'll love our all day dining menu or just grab a Starbucks latte and breakfast to go or a midnight snack after a long day. With Wi-Fi available throughout the space you can stay connected.We also have three dedicated meeting rooms located on the 1st floor with services to ensure you have everything you need for a smooth meeting or social gathering. Take time out in the Mini Gym so you can keep up with your fitness programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing