We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location..... but so disappointing and will not be back” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely location..... but so disappointing and will not be back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights last week and Sunday night this week with a trip to Dublin in the middle of the two stays.
First room 121 was a square box with zero character and a mirror that was upside down in the bathroom....yes upside down so that when it steamed up in the bathroom you could only see in the mirror if you were 8 foot tall......second room 135 was ok but still a square box.

Breakfast was the poorest I have seen anywhere.....and take a hint, when scrambled eggs are dark yellow...they have dried up and look disgusting....staff should at least stir.....not here aparently.
Traditional communal english breakfast...poor quality to say the least.
No full cream milk?? I did ask....they dont have???

Check the warming lights above the hotplates....so dusty and very uninviting....for a new hotel they need a rocket up the back sides or it will fall away.....

Sorry....will not be back

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, I am of course disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this assists us in improving the service we deliver.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again should your travel plans bring you back to the area, to allow us to restore your faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    144
    53
    13
    9
See reviews for
53
156
14
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked in here for one night in a emergency when other hotel (Marriot) was full. Got a twin room for £99 and it was surprisingly good. Races not on so it was incredibly quiet. Room impeccably clean, with lovely bath and choice of pillows. Young reception staff fantastically friendly and helpful. Loads of parking, barrier controlled.
Rather beautiful little sun terrace at the back of the bar where we enjoyed a glass of wine as the evening sun went down. Really handy for A1 and A14 to Cambridge, yet you feel as if you're right in the country.
Wish I'd stayed two nights. would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and thank you for your positive comments regarding both our hotel and team. We appreciate all feedback, however it is always great to receive comments such as yours.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 week during business trip. Not much to say - perfect hotel. New clean rooms, nice atmosphere, amazing location, fast free Internet - all you need to relax after working day. Definitely, will stay here for next visit.
Only thing which is not directly related to hotel - not stable mobile coverage in this area. But, at some point, being out of reach can be considered as big plus :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank acoustic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I was pleased to read it was an enjoyable one.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, good food, good ambiance, great location. But they never seem to recognise your loyalty to the brand I have stayed here quite a few times and feel disappointed that they have never upgraded my room through my platinum membership. I not saying I should be treated any differently to others but just once it would be nice, HI Huntington nearly perfect but just fell back at the finishing post.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stays at our Hotel, and thank you for your positive comments. My apologies that we have been unable to upgrade you’re booking, as we do recognise your loyalty to the brand and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Unfortunately we only have 8 executive rooms, which are in high demand therefore if the hotel is busy we can’t always offer an upgrade. I have discussed your comments with our Front of House Manager to ensure that whenever possible our Platinum members are always upgraded.

I do hope your will choose to stay with us again in the near future, once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Brand new hotel, didn't stay there just met for a meeting and food. Service was excellent and priced what you would expect for a good quality chain hotel. Dinner was OK, had Chicken curry which was watery, met up for breakfast which was excellent. Situated within the grounds of Huntingdon racecourse which has a great aspect. Very close to the A1/A14 junction at Brampton so v good location for travellers. A good alternative to the local Marriott.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seniorrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your restaurant experiences, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and our location was convenient for your meeting. My apologies that the curry wasn’t to your liking, I have passed your comments to our chef.

I do hope you will choose our hotel for your next meeting, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is by far one of the best holiday inns we have stayed in. A relaxing atmosphere, the staff are the most friendliest we have encountered, nothing was too much trouble. The cleanliness and comfort of the room was excellent. Well catered for with bathroom amenities, although coffee and tea and milk were a little on the sparse side, nothing which could not be remedied. There were plenty to choose from a breakfast which really did set you up for the day.
A wonderful hotel with a beautiful outlook. When booking it is well worth booking an executive
room or the Cheltenham suite. The only downside is the lack of cupboard space, which is a bit
of a nuisance. Never mind, will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room which overlooks the racecourse, super view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnieone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review on your stay at our hotel. I was pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay with us. I was also pleased to read my team were welcoming, we strive to provide a constant high standard of service. We appreciate both positive and negative as it allows us to improve, however it is great for the team to hear such positive feedback.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, should your travel plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently stayed for a 2 night break and chose this hotel after considering cheaper options. On arrival we knew instantly that we had made the right choice, what a great setting. The location was really quiet, although probably not the case during race meetings. Access to the A14 was good which made our trips to Duxford Air Show and Cambridge very easy. The open plan lobby and dining areas worked well and gave a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The quality of the room along with it's view of the racecourse was superb. The staff were friendly, polite, professional and efficient with excellent customer service skills, particularly Ryan, Maggie and Fay at Reception, the Duty Managers and Phil (a dead ringer for my cousin also called Phil!) and his colleagues. We had to wait a while until we could order our evening meal on our first night. This was due to a coach party but this was not a problem to us, as it was made clear as soon as we arrived in the dining area, and only meant a 30 minute wait. The coach party entertained everyone in the bar afterwards as they were a very tuneful Cornish male voice choir. The quality of the breakfast was superb and priced accordingly and our evening meals were enjoyed. Overall, this is not a budget hotel but well worth the extra if you can afford it. We would certainly not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room facing the racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTurner2013, General Manager at Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. I pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that our location was convenient for your days out to Duxford and Cambridge. Thank you for your comments regarding our Reception team, they will appreciate such positive feedback.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, should your travel plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.8 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
9.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Address: Thrapston Road | Brampton, Huntingdon PE28 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Christmas Day package is now available to book. Rate is based on two adults sharing a room.Enjoy a warm welcome at the Holiday Inn Huntingdon - Racecourse, overlooking the scenic racecourse.Holiday Inn Huntingdon - Racecourse is the perfect location to stay whether you're working or travelling for fun. Hinchingbrooke Business Park and the historic Hinchingbrooke House are close by. Cambridge City Centre is easily reached should you need to visit for business or to enjoy a day exploring the many colleges or shopping in the Grand Arcade.Holiday Inn value and comfort come as standard with our 98 stylish and spacious air conditioned bedrooms all with complimentary internet access. Get the chance to discover our revolutionary Open Lobby concept, a place where you can eat, drink, meet and work; really wind down and have fun. It's about being able to do what you want when you want.You'll love our all day dining menu or just grab a Starbucks latte and breakfast to go or a midnight snack after a long day. With Wi-Fi available throughout the space you can stay connected.We also have three dedicated meeting rooms located on the 1st floor with services to ensure you have everything you need for a smooth meeting or social gathering. Take time out in the Mini Gym so you can keep up with your fitness programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing