We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and Cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Redwings Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redwings Lodge
Ranked #18 of 20 Huntingdon B&B and Inns
Blackwood, South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We visited Huntington on family business and needed a cheap bed for the night. The 'Redwing' lodge was very cheap(£35), we booked direct and on arrival we received a 'Premier' room.

The room was basic, large (for the price) and clean. The staff were curtious and even managed to find my wife a hair dryer at short notice, as she'd forgotten her own.

Apart from the low rumble of the traffic from the A1(M) we experienced a peaceful nights sleep.

Breakfast was cereal and toast, but what do you expect for that price.

All in all a pleasant experience from a small motel that's trying it's hardest to satisfy its customers.

We will use again if we need to stay over near Huntingdon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    52
    29
    6
    15
See reviews for
24
36
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A bit isolated and a bit dated but the staff are trying really hard to make a difference. The person who does the cleaning certainly earns their money and does a really good job as does the receptionist. Having said that it is just about on the right side of being OK - does need a major refurbishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

No frills travelodge style accomodation, room was clean and tidy, everything was working with a warm shower, tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits on the tray, large tv in room. Bed was comfy, despite its proximity to A1M, you could hardly hear the traffic. Will be staying again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodge68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we booked this hotel for a stop over stay for a hospital visit, and on first impression was disappointed as you have to drive through a petrol station to get to it and it is not well signed posted to get to the entrance. On entering the hotel there was a strong smell of stale cigarettes, but the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. The main areas and corridors do need decorating, but I understand from the receptionist this is all in hand to do, as new owners have taken over and are in the process of renovating the place. The actual room was of a good size and had all the facilities needed, but again was in need of decorating as there was plenty of marks on the walls and carpet, and the mattresses definitely need changing, as they where cheap and nasty and your could feel every spring in your back(apparently this use to be a Travelodge, so I guess these where left over from then). I am sure once the renovation is completed, this will be a nice hotel to stay in for a short stay. I personally would stay there again, if I was in the area and couldn,t get a better deal with Premier Inn, as they did offer a good price.

Room Tip: there was no pool or children activities, so ignore those marks. When choosing a room ask them which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here to break up our long journey, at £38 for our room you really couldn't expect better. It was clean & comfortable and quiet. Staff were very friendly. We didn't use the bar or restaurant so can't comment on those.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Redwings lodge is an ideal overnight stop for breaking your journey from the North to London or Cross Channel ferries.Close to Peterborough,Huntingdon and Cambridge. Rooms are adequate with Shower and toilet etc, flat screen television free Wi-fi , kettle with hot drinks etc. There is a bar, breakfast room, but we didn't use either. Staff were obliging ,cheque in easy. Price very reasonable. There is an adjacent Indian Resteraunt which has a help yourself eat what you like buffet of decent quality.
Beds were comfy, the place was clean ,if a bit dated. does what it says on the can.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and good value, nice little garden with somker's terrace, although the hotel is just next to the highway. So not much to do around, but for those who have business close by a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kathrin Franzis... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Huntingdon (A1/A14) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
5.3 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
399 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ramada Cambridge
Ramada Cambridge
#1 of 1 in Boxworth
473 reviews
20.4 mi away
Redwings Lodge Motel
Redwings Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Morcott
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwings Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwings Lodge

Property: Redwings Lodge
Address: Old Great North Road | Sawtry, Huntingdon PE28 5XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Huntingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwings Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redwings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing