We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had our wedding at the George last weekend as we wanted a small and personal day. The day could not have been better and we would not have done anything differently. Katie made sure the day was exactly what we wanted and we also had a lot of help from Chris. We met with Katie a few times prior to the wedding and she made sure she was only a text or phone call away of we had any questions! Everyone was so helpful and welcoming that it made the time much less stressful! Most of the hotel was taken up by family and friends who all thoroughly enjoyed themselves! The breakfast was great too, especially the ham, cheese and egg toast!

Thank you for making our day just as we had wanted!

Room Tip: I spent two nights in the George in two different suites but I saw a number of rooms and all were la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you very much for sparing the time to post such positive feedback about your recent wedding at The George. I was delighted that Katie catered to all your needs and made your special day one to remember. We wish you a long and happy future together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Arriving at the George Hotel is a bit like going back in time, the reception was friendly, and efficient, The room could have done with a little updating but the bathroom modern clean and tidy, we had afternoon tea which was served with a smile, we also had our evening meal in the hotel menu was a little limited, The only down side was a slight traffic noise, but considering it is on a main road was not too much of a problem. This is a hotel I would recommend and look forward to returning

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2brandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay at The George. It was great to read that you found the staff to be engaging, food of a good standard and the cleanliness of your room a positive. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights over a weekend. £40 per night for Friday and Sunday was value but more expensive for the Saturday at £80 B&B. As others have mentioned some of the decor is a little tired, but this is an old hotel to be fair. Breakfast was cooked to order rather than the standard 3 star hotel buffet that goes cold. The evening menu was basic plain cooking (Brewers Fayre, Harvester style) with some specials and the food was tasty and not expensive. I especially liked the beef croquettes so had them for two meals. But the highlight of the stay was the high quality of the service and the friendliness of the staff....I was impressed by their helpfulness. The bar is well used by the locals and is very comfortable.

The hotel was a cut above the Premier chain I normally use on my travels. I would stay here again especially at the weekday price.

Room Tip: Low number rooms are closer to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgethebear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us online. It was most gratifying to read of your satisfaction with the food,staff and service you received and we look forward to welcoming you back to The George in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. Food limited but tasty. Hotel old but staff were great. Was within an acceptable commute from my place of business. Would not stay here again as i have found accomodation closer to base.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The George. I was extremely pleased to have read your positive comments regarding the staff and quality of the food. It is unfortunate that you won't be stopping with us in the future. Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way to Suffolk. From the outset the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant where the food was good and again the staff outstanding. Good breakfast.
Rooms a little tired but still worth the money. If passing through would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRGR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The George after your recent visit. It was great to have read that you very much enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff particularly pleasant and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to The George in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

i stayed in this hotel for one night when meeting my boyfriends family. the location is great minutes walks to shops, pubs and places to eat. parking is free. see reception staff for details about this. i will b staying hear again and recommed it

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborahd1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay with us. It is most gratifying to read that your experience was a good one and you thought highly of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the George in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have stayed here a few times on business. It is OK - rooms vary a bit, some are very nice and some less so. Décor a bit dated and tatty in places.
Pub is lively but beer is not so good and food OK, but there are plenty of eating options nearby.
Free parking in adjacent car park which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWM710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of the things your identified as needing attention. My team and I will make every effort to make improvements in those areas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
0.1 mi away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntingdon
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
2.1 mi away
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
The Stukeleys Country Hotel
#8 of 9 in Huntingdon
46 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Buckden
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: George Street, Huntingdon PE29 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Huntingdon
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stuart Hotel dating from 1510, once owned by Oliver Cromwell's grandfather, with picturesque galleried courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Huntingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing