We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolly Sheep Inn
Ranked #3 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we stay here Saturday night booked on web room said double for 80.00 we then found out it was a twin . but thought we here now we booked a meal in the evening staff fantastic
Food however appalling ordered rib eye steak at 19.95 each came uncooked sent it back still raw chips had all eyes and black in them mushroom tart burnt awful me and my husband didnt eat any really but we thought we would have a cheese board as not to complain even though staff new we had problems with food cheese board a joke cheese hardly any 4 little biscuits at 6.95 we went to bed hungry and not very happy at all
I would like just to say our meal with the wine came to 90.00 and we were not even compensated for any of it very wrong to be spending 170.00 all told

Room Tip: any room really al much same a think poss room 1 quite i beleive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location just off the high street a little jem of a pub would have given it 5 nothing to do with the food or the room it was the noise we had a room at the front looking on to a very busy road if we go back would ask for a room at the back car park was a plus easy to find

Room Tip: get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we last ate here we were given a voting form for the best pub in Yorkshire. I very much doubt that it's even the best in Skipton. T Taylor beer is as good as ever, but as the pub is owned by the brewery it should be and it's a little over-priced as there's no middle man to pay. We had stayed overnight on a previous visit and the rooms are good, breakfast is too. But there is a touch of pretentiousness about the daytime grub and the dinner menu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerremin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Overnight stay for my husband and I on Friday 13th June, what a little gem, central location, lovely pub, great room, small but everything in there that was needed and an excellent breakfast. We didnt eat dinner in there but the food looked great. Would definately recommend Skipton and the Wooly Sheep

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will020612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed only one night with a group of friends whilst attending a wedding in the area. B&B very central in Skipton with secure parking area. Our double room was on the small side but clean & tidy,The usual complimentary tea&coffee in room included local bottled water which was much appreciated on arrival as were the complimentary halfs of local beer with our meal later.
Evening meal was good and breakfast wad brilliant...loved the coffee and the do it yourself toast using the gas toaster and uncut bread!
I slept fine but the room was quite warm and my other half was uncomfortably hot during the night. We had a roadside room which was quite noisy until early morning, though as we had attended a wedding function and been late in ourselves, this was not a problem.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms may be noisy at night and ordinary double room a bit on the small side though for a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay at The Woolley Sheep in Skipton. When arrived the staff were super friendly, helping us with booking a taxi for the evening to a wedding and then going through all the safe aspects of the B&B before taking us to our room. The room was clean, tidy, all the facilities for tea, coffee, complimentary water, shower was excellent and we were also given some vouchers to sample their great range of Timothy Taylor beers downstairs which were excellent! Further, there is a secure car park out the back which plenty of parking. Just a word of warning, as they do stipulate on their website, it is a pub and so Fri and Sat nights are busy (a great atmosphere mind!!) but means that the rooms aren't that quiet until the pub shuts... not the place to stay on the weekend if you want an early night!

Room Tip: We had a twin room, no 9, which ticked the box for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed as a couple on a Saturday in June in a double room. Everything was great, extremely clean rooms, if a little on the small side for a double. Excellent service, friendly staff especially in the restaurant and great breakfast made up for anything else. Would suggest if you want an early night or no noise disturbance, then get a room at the back as those on the front get the street noise, expecially around 1am! We would definitely go again - book early as it is hard to get in at a weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as there is quite a lot of street noise around 1 am when the pub shuts! R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKLancshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#6 of 33 in Skipton
315 reviews
3 mi away
St John's House B&B
St John's House B&B
#1 of 4 in Cononley
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolly Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolly Sheep Inn

Address: 38 Sheep Street, Skipton BD23 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range: £83 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolly Sheep Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woolly Sheep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolly Sheep Hotel Skipton
The Woolly Sheep Inn Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing