We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vile”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Boutique 25

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique 25
Ranked #31 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vile”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Although newly decorated, you can sense the overpowering smell of paint everywhere. Old windows with draughts, smelly stained carpets. Staff are friendly but this is far from a boutique hotel. Stained mattress cover, it is clear there is still a real need of improvement. Although the room was warm the downstairs meeting rooms were freezing. The breakfast sausage was the vilest cheapest sausage I have ever eaten. Pay for quality you get quality and there is no quality about this place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    59
    39
    36
    50
See reviews for
21
154
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were travelling with a new car from Glasgow to Essex and this was about halfway. Between a hotel search engine and this site we made our decision. We were not disappointed such a delight. A warm welcome and a great bar/dining area. We chose to sit on the settees before dinner and admired the record display, we are in our late 40's so we chatted about the old sleeves and when we had bought those same albumn and singles. Dinner came and for us it was the fab. The place, food and welcome were a great comfort after a long drive. We had a sure nights sleep and woke refreshed to a locally sourced breakfast . We would seek to stay here again .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AeroTickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stay at this hotel regularly and have always found the service to be extremely good. The rooms are clean and tidy and I enjoy the extras of the bathrobes and a bath, which is hard to find in a hotel these days. The owners are refurbishing the rooms after taking over the hotel last September and I am sure the summer will see it as an ideal location in the centre of Skipton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spend our Valentines weekend and we cannot praise this hotel enough. As soon as we arrived, we were greated by a lovely receptionist who couldn't have been any more helpful and even provided us with a map to get to the town centre, which was only a 2 minute walk. The room was comfortable, clean and had everything you could possible need. The service from New owner and the rest of the team was perfect, they were all very polite and attentive. The next morning, the breakfast was amazing
We would definitely stay here again and I would recomend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baljin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The current owners have only been in since September and renovation work is ongoing but what a beautiful old building. We stayed in room 4 and the lady was quite honest and told us the jacuzzi was out of order but it wasn't needed. Gorgeous clean room, comfortable bed and a giant bathtub! Breakfast was freshly cooked at a time we chose and what a breakfast. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_Atkinson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The overall opinion of this hotel is that it needs refreshing.

The best bit about the hotel is the location. Literally in the centre and a 5 minute walk from the castle and church, there's enough shop's, restaurants and pubs too. Skipton was a lovely weekend away.

The rooms we stayed in were 2 and 6.

They seriously need a lick of; paint marks on the walls, stains on the carpet, cracks in the walls, radiator coming away etc.

Those who stayed in room 2 were awoken at around 1am from the rowdy teenagers piling out onto the streets from the downstairs club (Yes a club /Bar underneath the hotel). As this seemed to be the main income for the hotel this was more of a priority than the hotel side (well so it seemed) ... the owner advised he is getting double glazing to hope the noise is drowned out. Room two and three seem to suffer the most for the noise. We explained that reviews about the noise would be off putting for those who read them to which he replied "no it wouldn't".

The breakfast was nice bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms beans and toast. You can also help yourself to cereal before hand. Tea coffee and juice as also provided.

Overall the owners a brother and sister (The lady was lovely) bought the business in September and I can see they are trying to turn it around however they should not be charging this rate while it is run down and going through refurbishment.

Room 6 - 240 for 2 nights 200 would have been more suitable.

Room 2 - 198 for 2 nights, 170 would have been better.

I dislike giving poor reviews but I feel I should advise for future customers so that you may not be disappointed. A couple came the same time as us looked at their room and then left. (The pictures are better than reality)

A last point to add is parking, there is not much of it we asked when we first arrived where we could park, he advised where would park then letting us know this is 5 pound per night per car.

I wish the owners luck for the future as this could be brilliant with necessary touch ups.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Arrived 18/01/14 at 7pm to be told I was being given a £10 discount as due to an incident the previous day the window could not be secured.The room booked had a Jacuzzi/spa bath, we were then informed this had not worked for a while as they were waiting for parts from Japan? This was a great disappointment, however we had no option but to stay, the following morning we got up to find hot water at the sink but none coming out of the bath. I understand the lady only bought the business in September and she says she is short staffed but you should not advertise a room with a Jacuzzi if this is not the case as that was the reason we booked the room. The bathroom had fittings that had been knocked off the walls but had not been replaced
We emailed the hotel regarding these points they haven't had the decency to reply.
They hotel is too expensive, even the cheapest of hotels can provide you with hot water for a bath. We didn't even get an apology.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 318David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skipton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach House Skipton
The Coach House Skipton
#27 of 33 in Skipton
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Napier's
Napier's
#14 of 33 in Skipton
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 33 in Skipton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique 25

Property: Boutique 25
Address: 25 Newmarket Street, Skipton BD23 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique 25 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique 25 is a B&B offering stylish accommodation in the North Yorkshire town of Skipton. It has free Wi-Fi throughout, and an elegant wine and cocktail bar in its vaulted cellar. The individually designed rooms have sleek modern décor, and come with a flat-screen TV and a roll-top bath.Each room have work desk, a hairdryer, and free toiletries. A full cooked breakfast is provided each morning. Skipton is a charming market town, and it has a well-preserved castle a 5-minute walk from the hotel. A wide range of shops, restaurants and cafes can also be reached in 5 minutes on foot. We speak your language! Boutique25 has been welcoming guests since 24 Jan 2012. Bed and breakfast: 5 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boutique 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique 25 Hotel Skipton
Boutique 25 Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing