We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude and uninviting”
Review of Rockwood House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockwood House
Ranked #20 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantstic scenery! Staff very rude and uninviting! Jean-spoke to me appallingly after I had mistakingly used some glasses that where in a glass cabinate situated in the lounge with 'NO private' or 'do not touch sign' on. Jean also comented on the fact my six year old daughter had left some of her breakfast. As a family we felt like we where an inconvenience to them-maybe you are in the wrong industry! Will not be returning hear which is a great shame as we love skipton and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dibnah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RStead, Owner at Rockwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We consider it unacceptable to remove glassware from an antique china cabinet which was clearly not for everyday use in an establishment which is also used as a private residence (unfortunately the key was left in the lock). There was also a lot of wasted food. Self catering would perhaps be more suitable when good manners and spelling are not a necessary requirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a nice overnight stay at this B&B. It had basically everything save for a wifi connection. The other guests were very pleasant at breakfast too. Overall, we would recommend.

The whole experience was soured by some contention over the bill at the end - we had prepaid online for a family room (double and single bed) and the owner wanted to charge us an extra linen charge for the use of the single bed - check your bill carefully and you should be fine. We weren't impressed with the owner who outright lied to us and attempted to cover up her blunder in filling our online booking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RStead, Owner at Rockwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

This guest booked our family room as a double, on arrival they required the single bed AND the double bed. Our normal rate for this is £85. They had payed £72 and refused to pay a nominal charge of £5 which we have not pursued. Wifi is always available on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just come back from a wonderful stay for 2 nights at Rockwood House. Our room was perfect, clean, warm and with a beautiful view of the hills. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and more than enough to eat. Definitely 10/10.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay for 5 nights at Rockwood House, Embsay, Skipton, Yorkshire. Jean, our host was most welcoming and helpful. In the middle of our stay, the room had been pre-booked, but Jean found us another B&B in Skipton for that one night. In comparison, the room at Rockwood was far superior - large, bright & tastefully decorated. The ensuite bathroom was roomy, very clean and charming. The car park directly across the street was an added bonus as we did not have to park on the street or some narrow laneway. The room had 2 beds - a double and a single as well as an additional sink in the bathroom - a boon when there are 2 people. Breakfasts were wonderful - the best coffee I have had in a long time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked in for 2 nights and were not disappointed. The welcome was friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the en suite was spotless. The breakfast room overlooks the garden and is very homely. There was plenty of choice for breakfast with the cooked choice being most enjoyable. Our hostess, Jean, was friendly and informative without being intrusive. It was our first foray to that area of Yorkshire and will be back again to explore and stay at Rockwood knowing we will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Had two nights at Rockwood House, which is well situated in the main street of Embsay village opposite the free municipal car park. Great pub, the Elm Tree, just up the street. My room had obviously recently been decorated, so strong smell of gloss paint meant I had to spend a lot of time with the window open and suffer some cold Yorkshire breezes. I had a very comfortable bed with good quality bedding, and a nice (looked like newly fitted bathroom with an excellent shower. My companion's room, as described in some earlier reviews, had a partitioned off bathroom where the partition didn't reach all the way up to the ceiling, and a shower that ran at a pathetic trickle. There were no spare blankets provided, and my companion was very cold. As I had two single beds in my room I just used the duvets from both or I would have been cold also.
There was a kettle in my room and a jug with milk, some open teabags in a saucer, instant coffee in a grotty looking plastic container, and some ancient packets of sugar from various European destinations. A better selection of teabags in individual packets to keep them fresh, sachets of coffee and individual portions of milk would have been nice. The breakfast was ok apart from the brown toast which had mould on it. And we could have done without the 10 minute search for someone to pay when we wanted to leave. As checkout was by 10am it seemed reasonable to expect someone to be available to take our payment. Check in on arrival day was 5pm which seemed quite late to me.
This could be a lovely B&B - it just needs some finishing touches, and more of a feeling of welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Safariwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asulie, Owner at Rockwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

These two ladies were charged £39 each (which includes a 15% agent booking fee) per night for a large twin and a large double room. The centrally heated twin ground floor room had been recently decorated, both rooms are en suite. Not sure what the problem was with the shower, it only trickles when not fully turned on – it wasn’t reported to us at the time. There were spare blankets in wardrobes in both rooms. Fresh milk, tea and coffee are placed in each room on a daily basis. We use fresh bread for breakfasts, which we also eat ourselves. When no-one is around there is a bell to ring in the hall to call for attention. We are a Bed and Breakfast establishment so our normal check-in times are between 5 and 7 pm. We advertise that arrival outside these times can be arranged on being given prior notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed at Rockwood House whilst visiting relatives in Yorkshire. The room was lovely and clean with beautiful decor and felt very specious with the high ceilings. The hosts were very welcoming and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
2.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
852 reviews
13.6 mi away
No photo provided
Sweetbriar Cottage B&B
#26 of 33 in Skipton
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Browside Farmhouse
Browside Farmhouse
#4 of 4 in Cononley
129 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwood House

Address: 14 Main Street, Skipton BD23 6RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range: £71 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rockwood House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rockwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockwood House Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing