We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal without getting fleeced”

The Woolly Sheep Inn
Ranked #13 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Woolly Sheep is a traditional dining pub in the centre of Skipton, serving good quality freshly prepared food and great Timothy Taylors beers. We pride ourselves on the our service, atmosphere and produce, to ensure we always leave you wanting more.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good meal without getting fleeced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I spent two days in Skipton. The Woolly Sheep became our local. The sandwiches are very good. I recommend you have them with chips and soup.
There is a selection of Timothy Taylor Cask Beer, all eminently enjoyable (personal recommendation is the RamTam).
The staff are very helpful and have a good knowledge of all the drinks the pub has.
We did not eat in the dining room which is situated at the rear of the pub.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    227
    71
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was our first visit to Skipton and we visited the Woolly Sheep on the recommendation of trip advisor and the landlady of our guest house. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We both had king scallop and lobster risotto for starter and it was possibly the best starter we've had. The mains were also delicious. Very reasonably priced quality food and great service. We will definitely go there again when we return to Skipton.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mcchrissyrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We visited the Woolly Sheep following a trip out to Skipton and a quick search on Tripadvisor when we got there. From outside it didn't look too promising however there were a few decent cask ales behind the bar and the food was to a very good standard. I chose the salt & pepper steak and blue stilton salad which came well presented and med/rare as i'd ordered.
The wife had lasagne and claimed it to be the best lasagne she'd eaten! Tasted like they used decent quality steak rather than a cheaper mince meat.

We'll be visiting again soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The-McCoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,043 reviews
1,153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,802 helpful votes
“Good quality breakfast at great price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Visited Skipton to buy provisions for nearby camping trip & spotted a breakfast menu at this pub & decided to give it a go. The pub has rooms, so breakfast is always available.
We were greeted my a really friendly waitress, who advised us that a full breakfast was £6.95, which seemed good value.
There is a buffet table with fresh juices, cereal, yoghurt, lovely crusty bread for toast. Coffee is good quality & plentiful. Had the full English which was all well cooked, with quality bacon, award winning pork sausage & homemade black pudding, egg,beans, mushrooms, hash brown & grilled tomotato.
Bearing in mind a costa coffee & cake will cost you nearly that, this is a great place for a great breakfast.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning in every way :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Altough I have lived in skipton for the pat 3 years and walked passed this pub day in and out, i have not realized how we have this gem in our midst. I had a ploughmans lunch and my partner had the belly pork. The Ploughmans was fresh, with a unique selection of yorkshire delicasses (and pickeld egg-yum yum) The Belly pork just melted in your mouth according to my other half. We had our lunch outside,in sunny and comfy beer garden indeed :) and altough it was busy, the staff made sure we were loked after.
The beer was of exceptional quality too, We highly reccomend a pint of Timothy Taylors LANDLORD. We will Be back- Thank You Woolly Sheep

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woolly Sheep Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
 

Been to The Woolly Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing