We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

The Woolly Sheep Inn
Ranked #12 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Woolly Sheep is a traditional dining pub in the centre of Skipton, serving good quality freshly prepared food and great Timothy Taylors beers. We pride ourselves on the our service, atmosphere and produce, to ensure we always leave you wanting more.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The Woolly Sheep is regarded by my wife and I as our 'local' when staying in Skipton.
The Timothy Taylors beer being very nice, there is also a good selection of spirits.
We visited here over the Easter Weekend. The pub was very busy tursday and friday evenings. The staff even though extremely busy were always polite and helpful.
The food here is very good ranging from bar snacks / sandwiches to full meals.
We had a table booked for the friday evening. The table is yours for the evening, so you don't get the feeling that they want to serve you as quickly as possible and get someone else in.
The food is well cooked and presented, value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    230
    72
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truly great lunch time experience”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It was a bitterly cold day in Skipton - we hadn't left enough time in the day to get everything in and needed to sit down and quickly re-plan our itinery. Scanning the High Street I spotted what looked like, from a distance, a small and typical High Street drinking hole where I could get a weak beer and a bag of pork scratchings. Well I was completly wrong about the Woolly Sheep. Walking through the door we were confronted by a pair of empty, high backed chairs with fleece throws, pleasant bar staff and an attractive menu. We settled into the chairs next to a roaring fire and started to sup our ale. If we thought our plans were slipping for the day we knew they were going to suffer a huge dent having sat down here as we knew we could easily settle in for the day. We were a little concerned at the price of the fish sandwich and the beef baggette but they were heavenly and substantial meals, very well cooked and brilliantly presented. Only the best ingredients used, clearly. I heard the telephone going several times and bookings being mde for the accommodation - a good trick, if a ploy, but I would happily try them as the overall standard of accommodation, service, cleanliness was very high. A youngish couple running a very well managed enterprise - well done
Cleanliness and decor first class

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We came here for a meal and weren't expecting anything amazing, so were very pleased with the food and the service.

My husband had the 3 way pork which was incredible and I had the lamb which was also very good. The prices seemed fairly reasonable as well.

Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
I am really glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really great find”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in skipton foe my birthday weekend wanted to stay here but was fully booked up ;( but booked a table for lunch and the woolysheep lived up to all expectations everything was great !!!
The staff where top notch food was fab and the atmospher was great !!
The only down side was and am being very picky now there's not enough room to relax after your meal !!
Keep up the good work we will be back very soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roach1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Really glad you enjoyed your birthday lunch. It's a shame we couldn't get a room for you for your special weekend.

Hopefully next year. look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Arrived at The Woolly Sheep Inn and having read the reviews on the place, We got given room 6, which is over the main bar. It was well equipt and very clean.We had no trouble at all regarding any noise from the bar.We decided to eat in the restraunt, were the staff were warm and welcoming and the food was fantastic, we couldnt fault it. Would we come back again you better believe it.

Helpful?
Thank alipp67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew_Goodall, General Manager at The Woolly Sheep Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for taking time out to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed The Woolly Sheep Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
 

Been to The Woolly Sheep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing