We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, so peaceful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonelands Farmyard Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our 10th visit, we think, to Stonelands! We normally stay in Tansy Close with our friends, but this time we were on our own and decided to stay in Elbeck for our weekend visit. Ruth's genuine welcome once again made us feel at home straight away in Elbeck. Elbeck cottage was lovely & cosy, everything we needed was there to make our stay perfect, and the shortbread is yummy!The peace and quiet of the valley envelopes you at Stonelands, it's great! We had not been to Stonelands before in late May, and the fields were golden with buttercups and other flowers. We did some long walks and enjoyed the fantastic scenery, beautiful wild flowers, the wildlife and the food and drink at the local pubs, one at either end of the valley! Went to Skipton and re-visited various shops and the market! We didn't use the swimming pool this visit but it is it good.
Needless to say, we will be back! Thanks Ruth for posting on my glasses & lipstick!
Yvonne, Cheshire.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneKGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

What a lovely review - thank you so very much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your (10th!) stay in Elbeck and your visits to the local pubs (The Falcon in Arncliffe & the Queen's Arms in Litton.) Glad you received your glasses and lipstick safely.
We look forward to seeing you again soon - until then, best wishes and take care.

Ruth & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Stonelands Farmyard Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

we were recommended these cottages by a friend who said they were a gem. She was right !!! A great welcome from Ruth and Mark the owners, with shortcake biscuits ( which were delicious ) to help us settle in.
We stayed in Elbeck which was very clean and comfortable, well equipped with everything that you could need. The pool was fantastic, I didn't get dressed any morning just went straight to the pool in my dressing gown !!! This is how relaxed and welcoming these cottages are.
The area is lovely to explore and again Mark took time to recommend places to visit.
We have stayed many times in the Dales and these cottages are the best we have stayed in.
Would recommend them to anyone, we are definitely going to book again
Thank you Ruth &Mark for a fantastic week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Elbeck and the use of the pool. We really do thank you for taking the time to write your comments and very much hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes

Mark & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a fantastic place, the accommodation was clean and well equipped. The owners bent over backwards to make sure your stay was enjoyable. The heated swimming pool was so relaxing after a day of sightseeing and the peaceful surroundings recharged the batteries very quickly. There was only one drawback, Tom the owners father was not there to help me demolish a bottle of whisky as he did 20 years ago. Instead he just though about himself and decided to go to Scotland to play golf. A most enjoyable stay and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a peaceful break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wladyslaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

"Wow" - what a review! Thank you. First of all, please let me apologise for my father-in-law's absence but he really does the need the practise with his golf! We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us, it is always lovely when guests do return to visit so thank you.
We very much hope to see you again soon - please bring us some sunshine!

Best wishes

Mark & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We Recently stayed in the Sandhams cottage. This place is fab, so peaceful with the most amazing scenery all around from every window, a wonderful spa bath after a hard day walking and all the home from home comforts you don't normally get on a self catering break. The place is spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. As for the facilities...well what can we say, a gorgeous indoor heated swimming pool with loungers and even a sauna too. Mark and Ruth, your little piece of heaven is 5 star. Thank you .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debcLincoln_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Sandhams. Thank you for your kind review and for all your generous comments about our facilities and the surrounding scenery.

It truly is lovely to read that you had a relaxing stay with us and we do thank you for taking the time to write this review. We very much hope to see you again in the near future and wish you well.

Best wishes

Ruth & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We travelled as a family with two children aged 6 & 7 and stayed in Skirfare and friends who visited with us stayed in Roselbar with their children (2 & 6).

The location is beautiful with great walks and views from your doorstep. The hosts are probably the nicest i have ever encountered when renting holiday homes - genuinely friendly and helpful, we had no problems during our visit but i have total faith that they would have been dealt with brilliantly if we had. The pool is brilliant, larger than the photo makes it look and really nice warm changing areas. If i was being really picky you might say the shower in the ladies changing room could have been better but you can always head back to your cosy cottage if you want a full on power shower blast! The outside space is brilliant for families with a nice play frame and a HUGE playfield for football/running around.

The local pub is nice but we liked the Blubell Inn(?) in nearby Kettlewell which was family friendly and good value.

Whilst here we visited the forbidden corner which is a fabulous day out for families. The drive there along Cam Gill road was also stunning.

Overall we lived our stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so very much for your lovely review. As always, it really is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased that your family enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled that you all loved the pool & play park. We're glad to hear that you loved the playing field - we just hope that we have some sunny weather heading our way so all our guests can enjoy that - fingers crossed! We will look at the shower in the ladies changing room asap to try and fix that, we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes

Mark & Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked 3 nights at Stonelands Farmyard cottages. From the very start of our holiday our hosts where extremely accommodating even throwing in swimming towels free of charge and allowing us to arrive before "check in time". The cottage was warm and welcoming, the home made biscuits made for a special touch and both adults and kids tucked into these. It was the little touches that made this holiday stand out from the rest. The kitchen was well equipped and I would book another holiday for the power shower alone! The kids and I enjoyed adventurous walks from our door step and we even got Dad in the pool 2x. The pool is great and is bigger than in the picture, the change room area is warm unlike some swimming pools. All our children came away having gained more confidence in their swimming. The beds are very comfy and so are the other furnishings. Over all we feel that this has been our most relaxing and enjoyable holiday ever! There is only one negative that I will mention, we could not get any network connection in our room but didn't have a problem at the poolside,,, however with that said it was quiet nice to have a brake from the phone. Keep up the good work Ruth and Mark we hope to be back soon to get our 10% return customer discount :-)

Room Tip: We enjoyed Tansy cottage, loved the power shower!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaCrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review for us at Stonelands. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the new power shower in Tansy Close; we have only just refurbished that bathroom so we are delighted to hear that you appreciated it so much - thank you. We have also refurbished the bathroom in Skirfare and also hope to update Honey Pot's bathroom as well as 2 more in Roselber & Guildersbank by the end of the month (Jan 2014.)
We are sorry that you could not get a network connection from this property. Wifi is available in all communal areas and in most properties but regrettably some guests have struggled to get a connection in Tansy Close - we do apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again so much for taking the time to write your review; it really is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Best wishes

Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent my 50th Birthday here with friends and family from 23rd Nov to 25th - we hired 5 cottages between us, All were lovely very well maintained and resourced, warm and comfortable and the owners made us feel very much at home - we even moved furniture about to accommodate celebrations in our Cottage (Skirfare) Welcome boxes of chocs were a very nice touch. Some of our party had dogs and the cottages are well equipped for this. The area is very secluded and beautiful - my family enjoyed a lovely walk and quite a challenging hill climb,The children in the group absolutely loved the pool and because it is a lovely area to sit and relax this made life so easy for the rest of us - some of the party stayed later on the last day just so the kids could keep playing in the pool and the owners were very happy for them to do so. Because our party was large the local pub could not accommodate us so we had our Sunday meal at the Grassington House (9 miles away) and we were very impressed with the food and the service - book in advance for the four course meal mmmm. We visited Skipton market and Harrogate while we were there and the Cottages are well placed for these - roads are a little scary but hey us City birds are not used to tight passes on country roads. Anyway would definitely recommend and the whole party cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elreevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C, Owner at Stonelands Farmyard Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with all your family here at Stonelands. If you fancied another challenging hill climb another time, you may want to consider the Three Peaks! The dogs would love it! Just so you know, we have just refurbished the bathroom in Skirfare so it now has a bath and overhead shower. (We also offer a loyalty discount to returning guests.)
We very much hope to see you again in the near future. Meantime, we wish you all the best for the coming festive season and hope that Santa is good to you all!

Many thanks

Ruth Cowan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
15.9 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,187 reviews
14.3 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
413 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonelands Farmyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonelands Farmyard Cottages

Address: Stonelands Farmyard Cottages | Litton, Skipton BD23 5QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Skipton
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Stonelands Farmyard Cottages Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing