We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Enjoyable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skipton Park Guest O'tel
Ranked #11 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I stayed here for three nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. As others have said, Jenny and Ken are the perfect hosts. They're the type of people who seem to have born to do B&B, helpful, sociable, and delightful, without being pushy. The other thing that really stands out about my visit was the delicious breakfasts--the typical items you find in a full English (plus real porridge!), but all extremely well-prepared to order, as well as cheerfully served in a friendly environment.

I had single occupancy in a family room on the top floor. The room was spotless, large, and nicely furnished. No antiques or fancy frou-frous, if you care about such things, but real wooden furniture, not fibreboard flatpack. I didn't find the short walk to the center (about 10 minutes) to be at all burdensome, especially since I enjoyed going beside the canal. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giggleswick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Skipton Park Guest O'tel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

Just returned from another fantastic weekend in Skipton and the Skipton Park O'Tel.
It was our 2nd stay there and we have booked again for next year. All the reviews are right in what they say, there isnt much left to say!
Spotless, friendly, excellent location and very nice hosts.
Thank you, we will be back!
Debbie, Kev, John & Millie

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJGDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Excellent value 3 nights B&B (very good breakfast) for £130.00!!!
Nice place with lovely large rooms ans nice ensuite bathroom.
we will visit again. SOON I HOPE!
A bit of a walk to the town but only about 15 mins all on the flat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seacombesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

3 of us stayed in two rooms (number 1 on ground floor, and number 3 on first floor) over the bank holiday weekend for three nights. Both rooms were large and spotlessly clean, each with ensuite and FreeSat TV. Ken and Jenny are wonderful hosts - they were very warm and welcoming and did everything they could to help me make my Mum's 60th a very special day. They were both on hand to offer advice and suggestions for things to see and do in the area. Their service was fabulous - down to the little touches like remembering I liked ketchup with my eggs in the morning! Breakfast was very delicious - everything on offer that you could want: museli, yoghurt, cereal, juice, fruit, coffee, tea, jams, toast, cooked breakfast (just to your liking).
The B&B is in an excellent location for visiting the Dales and the surrounding towns and villages. Skipton is a great town with everything you'll need - there is even a street market on certain days - and the B&B is a short walk to the town centre. Very convenient.
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We were warmly welcomed by Ken even though it was well before 2pm. The room was perfect. Ken and Jenny are the perfect hosts. Anything we needed to know they helped us out with. Ken cooked the most delicious breakfast and Jenny was very helpful with any special requirements for breakfast. Well done to the both of you, you were both made to be hotel hosts. 5 star rccomendation. Lesley and Richard from Sunderland

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphinsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I arrived late at Skipton Park in the evening after an overnight flight from the US, a day in London, and a long train ride, and I was promptly welcomed by name at the door by B&B owners Ken and Jenny. The warmth continued throughout my weeklong visit. Ken and Jenny were always available and ready to answer questions or just chat (or offer a proper plate and fork when Jenny spotted me coming in one evening with a bag from a local takeaway).

The room was large, clean, and comfortable and filled with information about the area and menus for local restaurants. All the standard amenities (tea, coffee, soap, hairdryer) were available, and there were a few handy extras (alarm clock, small sewing kit).

The breakfasts offered all you'd want to eat and more. The full English is ample and delicious, but other options are available if you prefer not to have so much every day. Jenny is attentive during breakfast without ever being overbearing. During my stay, guests would frequently end up talking together at breakfast. The environment just promotes that sort of friendliness. And on the mornings I just felt like sitting with a book over breakfast, there was no pressure to chat. It was just the right balance.

If I ever go back to Skipton, I will not hesitate in choosing where to stay. This is, for me, the obvious choice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKPinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Sometimes you read reviews which make you wonder whether the place you will stay could really ever live up to the expectation it builds. But when, as you wait outside the place, a passing local says you should have a lovely stay there (and makes particular note of the breakfasts) you suspect you might be onto something special. And so it was for my stay in Skipton at the Skipton Park Guest'Otel.

Not normally a bed and breakfast visitor, but underwhelmed by the choices in Skipton for hotels, I looked at past reviews and thought this might be a good place, especially as it was just one night. It was a shame it was not longer, as from the word go, owners Ken & Jenny made it a very pleasant experience.

The room was sizeable, well decorated, and impeccably clean, and the location convenient for Skipton town centre and station. HD satellite television was a welcome bonus few high end hotels yet offer and a thorough guide on how to use that and all the other amenities in the room was a useful introduction. But it was a extra efforts made by the owners to make the stay go well that must be singled out for particular praise. Hints on where to have a drink and some food in town were quickly followed with maps and some suggestions to where a nice afternoon walk might be had. Not at all intrusively, but with an astute understanding of what first time visitors might be looking for during a one night stay in the town. I would imagine they could help almost any type of visitor with such a friendly and engaging manner.

This was a really enjoyable place to be for the night, and I would imagine that some more time there would only lead to you being introduced to some of the best this beautiful town and area has to offer. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quality place to stay in Skipton at a very reasonable price. Oh, and their neighbour was right, the breakfast was very good too!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#5 of 32 in Skipton
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#20 of 32 in Skipton
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skipton Park Guest O'tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skipton Park Guest O'tel

Address: 2 Salisbury Street, Skipton BD23 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Skipton Park Guest O'Tel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing