We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton House

Carlton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton House
Ranked #18 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Kilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed there a couple of nights last week and as they offer a double and single room package it was perefect for me and my mum who were touring The Dales before moving on to Holy Island. Both Anne and David were very friendly and as mentioned in previous reports their breakfasts were first class and prepared using the finest products.

The property was very well appointed with wall mounted flat screen TV's in the rooms and there was much attention to detail, everything was spotlessly clean and with the location just a few minutes walk to the centre I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for the 2012 Oxfam Trailtrekker.
The owners were very good and even let us use their freezer to store some ice blocks for Trailtrekker.
They were very flexible as we had to leave at 8pm to do our support crew duties for Trailtrekker and did not come back until 12pm the following day.
The breakfast, double room, shower were all very good.
We will certainly stay here again if we were looking for a B&B in the centre of Skipton.
Thanks
Mark & Heather

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have stayed at this bed and breakfast many times and have always had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. The bedrooms are very clean and comfortable. The owners are always really friendly and make us feel at home. The cooked breakfasts are always delicious and cooked fresh to order.
We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

What a lovely place to stay, so welcoming and friendly as well as really comfortable. Placed as it is the heart of the prettiest town in Yorkshire - Skipton - what more could a visitor as for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here for single night and was impressed as soon as we entered. The owners were very friendly and the accommodation was very clean,comfortable and tastefully decorated. Breakfast in the very elegant dining room was excellent,tasty and served on a nice hot quality plate with quality cutlery. This lovely place is michelin recommended. If your visiting skipton,this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaldaveskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Not our first stay but one of several over the last two or three years. Excellent location for town centre, very cofortable accommodation, superb breakfast, very friendly and helpful hosts. Superb value for money.

Cannot think of any valid criticism.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapid city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

What a wonderful experience staying at Carlton House. From the moment we walked in until our warm goodbyes, Anne and David made us feel like family. They keep a well appointed house with obvious attention to detail. Our room was lovely, clean, and comfortable and the view out to the back garden was so nice. Breakfast in the sunny dining room was the best way to start the day. Delicious offerings and beautifully prepared and presented food was a distinct pleasure--all with hearty smiles. I hope our travels find us back in Skipton soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#4 of 33 in Skipton
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#17 of 33 in Skipton
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 33 in Skipton
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 46 Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Carlton House Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing