We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne & Art Zarb from Leicester.”
Review of Carlton House

Carlton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton House
Ranked #17 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anne & Art Zarb from Leicester.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We popped over to Skipton on one of our "Adventures" as Leicester Ambassadors for National Express Coaches and stayed at Carlton House for 2 nights, Ann and David welcomed us with a smile and made us feel at home straight away. We found the room lovely and clean,very comfortable with a good selection of Tea, Coffee, Chocolate and biscuits in their "Welcome" tray.The bed was heaven to sleep in which was followed with a mouth watering full english breakfast and a never ending supply of toast, tea and coffee.
It was FIVE STAR service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review. It was lovely to meet you both and to learn about your varied hobbies. It was fortunate that there were 2 events happening in Skipton the weekend you were here. I'm sure you must have some lovely photos to remember your visit by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just had 2 nights stay at this B & B. Couldn't ask for more. Great breakfasts. Wonderful hospitality. Room was spotless and the bed was so, so comfortable. Managed to get parked outside the house and the location is only 3 min walk from town centre. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. David and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit last weekend and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I just spent a couple of days in the beautiful home of Ann and David Harding. Everything about our stay was 5 star, very friendly, kind and helpful hosts, food was excellent and the room was spotless and very comfortable. We will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband & u stayed here last night , Ann greeted us & made us very welcome. Our room had everything we needed & was spotless. the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was first class.The location is right near the centre & we had no trouble parking.Thank you Ann & Dave we will be back . :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinoi
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Everything about our two night stay in this guesthouse was 5 star. The location was excellent Our room, a large double, was delightful. The decor made us feel like we had traveled back in time to a pleasant Victorian home ( of course we had!). The proprietors, Anne and David Harding, we're pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. It was nice to have a cookie with our tea! And the price for the room was very, very reasonable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room one was quiet and large, and you only have to go up one flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Stayed there a couple of nights last week and as they offer a double and single room package it was perefect for me and my mum who were touring The Dales before moving on to Holy Island. Both Anne and David were very friendly and as mentioned in previous reports their breakfasts were first class and prepared using the finest products.

The property was very well appointed with wall mounted flat screen TV's in the rooms and there was much attention to detail, everything was spotlessly clean and with the location just a few minutes walk to the centre I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights for the 2012 Oxfam Trailtrekker.
The owners were very good and even let us use their freezer to store some ice blocks for Trailtrekker.
They were very flexible as we had to leave at 8pm to do our support crew duties for Trailtrekker and did not come back until 12pm the following day.
The breakfast, double room, shower were all very good.
We will certainly stay here again if we were looking for a B&B in the centre of Skipton.
Thanks
Mark & Heather

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#5 of 32 in Skipton
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#16 of 32 in Skipton
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
649 reviews
2.1 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 46 Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Carlton House Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing