We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YORKSHIRE WARMTH”
Review of Carlton House

Carlton House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skipton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlton House
Ranked #19 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
152 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“YORKSHIRE WARMTH”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This five -bedroom B & B on the south side of Skipton, just a few minutes' stroll from the centre of town, is a most cosy and welcoming place : the ambience is of a well-run Victorian family home with the added plus of warm rooms, immaculate decor and good cooking, and all at very reasonable cost. Mr and Mrs Harding, the hosts, were generous with their time and advice on local attractions, and served an excellent breakfast. I do not think a traveller could find a more pleasant place to stay in Skipton, and the website for Carlton House is well worth a look.The tariff on the website needs updating, as room costs now are greatly reduced from the prices stated there, and no mention is made of parking: on-street parking is available along the road outside the house. Perhaps it is the time (mid-May) for the duvets on beds to be changed from winter-weight to summer- weight, but a very cosy bed usually suits anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I take your point about the duvet. We have 4 seasons duvets on the beds and had you mentioned it we would have removed one of them for you. It is difficult at this time of year to decide when to reduce the weight - cast not a clout and all that! Hope you had a pleasant and safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The highlight of my recent trip to England was the four nights I stayed at Ann and David Harding's beautiful home. They were very gracious hosts and made me feel like I was part of their family. The accomodations were lovely and I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable bed. It was just a short walk to the town center which has lots of lovely shops and of course the castle. Each morning I enjoyed a delicious breakfast. I hope I can return to their lovely part of the world in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure to meet you and we hope that the Yorkshire Dales was one of the highlights of your European trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We popped over to Skipton on one of our "Adventures" as Leicester Ambassadors for National Express Coaches and stayed at Carlton House for 2 nights, Ann and David welcomed us with a smile and made us feel at home straight away. We found the room lovely and clean,very comfortable with a good selection of Tea, Coffee, Chocolate and biscuits in their "Welcome" tray.The bed was heaven to sleep in which was followed with a mouth watering full english breakfast and a never ending supply of toast, tea and coffee.
It was FIVE STAR service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review. It was lovely to meet you both and to learn about your varied hobbies. It was fortunate that there were 2 events happening in Skipton the weekend you were here. I'm sure you must have some lovely photos to remember your visit by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just had 2 nights stay at this B & B. Couldn't ask for more. Great breakfasts. Wonderful hospitality. Room was spotless and the bed was so, so comfortable. Managed to get parked outside the house and the location is only 3 min walk from town centre. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. David and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit last weekend and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I just spent a couple of days in the beautiful home of Ann and David Harding. Everything about our stay was 5 star, very friendly, kind and helpful hosts, food was excellent and the room was spotless and very comfortable. We will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband & u stayed here last night , Ann greeted us & made us very welcome. Our room had everything we needed & was spotless. the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was first class.The location is right near the centre & we had no trouble parking.Thank you Ann & Dave we will be back . :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H, Owner at Carlton House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinoi
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Everything about our two night stay in this guesthouse was 5 star. The location was excellent Our room, a large double, was delightful. The decor made us feel like we had traveled back in time to a pleasant Victorian home ( of course we had!). The proprietors, Anne and David Harding, we're pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. It was nice to have a cookie with our tea! And the price for the room was very, very reasonable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room one was quiet and large, and you only have to go up one flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
783 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#5 of 33 in Skipton
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#17 of 33 in Skipton
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton House

Property: Carlton House
Address: 46 Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Carlton House Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing