We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tung po excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tung Po

Tung Po
Ranked #85 of 147 Restaurants in Skipton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tung po excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We have been customers of the tung po both to eat and and take always for many years. The staff are fantastic, they serve you with a smile, the food is fantastic, always freshly prepared and wonderful flavours. The menu is never ending and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. A really great Chinese, well priced and very welcoming, highly recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    2
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One word - awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Continuing on from reviewing restaurants in my home town, this is by far one of the best Chinese restaurants you will ever eat in.

It's not in the Town Centre but you can walk to it in 15/20mins or so...and it'll be worth it, trust me!

I used to live close to this place and even though I don't now, I usually visit here once a month either in the restaurant or as takeaway.

I can't grumble at any of the food...only maybe that the starters are sometimes enough for two (no bad thing though as prices are reasonable).

The salt and pepper squid and or chicken is amazing, please do try it...Also one of my favourites are the salt an pepper chicken wings and also the Fillet Steak in cantonese sauce.

The staff who work there are genuinely interested in you and always make your stay welcoming. A must try for any chinese food lovers...don't miss out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettBButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Skipton...if not the county!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Been going here for years, even used to rent a house a few doors away from the restaurant!

Takeaway and eat in...both are great! Staff are always really friendly and remember you if you go in enough times! We once had a problem with our card (which wouldnt work) and didn't have any cash on us to pay for a takeaway...no problem we were told, just come back and pay next time you get a takeaway or whenever your passing! That's the kind of place we like! :)

The BBQ ribs are to die for, the meat just falls off the bone, never had a bad meal there! I always take ages to decide what I want as I know it is all so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurajp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese in Skipton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Me, my girlfriend and other family members have ate here on many occasions, both sit in and takeaway. Food is always on top form, and the people are great. There is no other chinese in skipton for me. :-D

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shoeboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All round yummy =)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Me & a friend came here last year after I asked my Dad to recommend a Chinese in Skipton.
His reply was "If the one on Broughton Road is still open eat there. Me and your Mum used to go there when we lived in Skipton"... It's at least 30 years since Mum & Dad lived in Skipton & that says it all. If something stands the test of time it's for a reason. The food was top notch, and plenty of it too. Quick & friendly service to with it. We got there early & there were people already in & a steady stream of calls & customers he whole time we ate. Maybe a little dated inside, but who cares? I'm going out to eat, not look around the place. Think I'll have a little trip there tonight actually ! A couple of the ratings don't apply to this place, ie Bar or Outdoor seating. Hope that doesn't drag the review down any!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JOY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tung Po also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Cononley, Skipton
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Tung Po? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing