We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's all the fuss about”

Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street
Ranked #6 of 153 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: No visit to Skipton and The Yorkshire Dales is complete without tucking into the award winning fish and chips served at Bizzie Lizzie's of Skipton. Bizzie Lizzie's, located at Swadford Street is a firm favorite with the locals and those coming from far and wide. Whether you choose to eat in our restaurant or buy from our take away you will find the same great atmosphere, friendly service and great tasting Fish and chips that have given Bizzie Lizzie's its great reputation... Don't just take our word for it, come and see for yourself. Love Fish and Chips...Love Bizzie Lizzie's Restaurant: Mon - Sun 11am - 9pm Takeaway: Mon - Sun 11am - 11.30Pm
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a lovely place in a lovely setting.unfortunately the food was distinctly average...and expensive for what was basic chippy food...anaemic chips and s.f. Chicken that had been obviously sat in a warmer for ages,drier than the goby desert..perhaps apply as much attention on the food as the decor ..not for us again far better places locally

Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Owner at Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the decor comments, I wish your dining experience was as complimentary. Our Southern Fried Chicken is prepared fresh daily, it is very popular and often we cannot keep up with demand. I am unsure how you received dry chicken but we would have happily changed this for you had you informed a member of staff. We appreciate all comments and I thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
There are newer reviews for Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 605 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Advertised as the best fish and chips in the uk? I doubt these are the best in skipton. The fish was quite small and not that special. The chips were again not anything special. It's sad to say the mushy peas were the star of the meal. Whoever judged the competition certainly never went to Whitby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boageyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Owner at Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were unhappy with quality of fish and chips you received. The National Fish and Chip awards are held every year, Quayside in Whitby won the 2014 award.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Never been disappointed. Always excellent. Been going so long (and I now live in Armagh so it's a long way to come )I qualify for pensioner's special rates. Value for money for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ProfRonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Owner at Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments! And thank you for taking the time to visit us when you are back in the area. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Whilst in Skipton during the Tour De France weekend we popped in Bizzie Lizzie's on the way home.

Myself and wife both had the fish and chips together with mushy peas. I enjoyed the fish which had a nice crispy batter, the flesh of the fish just fell apart as you tucked into it.

The price, considering it was a hyped up weekend because of the tour was £12 for the two lots as I remember.

Overall a nice experience at the end of a great day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Owner at Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review and for your comments. We hope you had a great Tour De France weekend, we hope to see you again when you are next visiting Skipton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very pleasant and attentive staff in the restaurant by the coach station. Haddock very good but he chips were soft and not very hot. Chips much better at the Empress on the Stray. Very nice cup of tea which was needed after the hours the coach driver spent trying to get from the A1 to Skipton the day before then Grande Depart.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SRM2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie D, Owner at Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. I apologise for the quality of chips you received, I am not making excuses but we did have an issue with our potatoes, this has now been resolved. We hope to see you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bizzie Lizzie's - Swadford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing