We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor”

The Bull At Broughton
Ranked #21 of 162 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Bull at Broughton has long been one of Yorkshire's landmark pubs...famous as much for its hospitality as it is for its beautiful location. We harvest the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients from the pick of local artisan suppliers, and create a menu inspired by tradition but influenced by contemporary twists. Menus are inspired by only the freshest ingredients harvested by our local food heroes. Enjoy regional Cask Ales and an award winning wine list specially chosen by leading wine expert, Craig Bancroft. The Bull is full of atmosphere, character and charm, but above all its relaxing, with al fresco dining in the summer and crackling log fires in the winter.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we decided to visit the bull recently with family to celebrate my 40th birthday, although I've no complaints with the food the service wasn't what I expected of some where with such a big reputation staff where more interested with laughing and joking amongst them selves behind the bar than actually serving us 25 mins in and we finally got to order some food and drinks !! on arrival of the drinks the lad who brought them knocked one of them all over my mother in laws new dress instead of helping to clean the mess up he carried on serving the rest of the drinks leaving her to mop herself and the table and floor up the mood was slightly damp after this! the manager did come over but instead of apologising for there error he attempted to excuse the lad with the quote we all make mistakes don't we . Half way through the main meal another member of staff knocked another glass over luckily this glass was caught before it covered another member of our party , 35 mins after ordering our deserts they still hadn't come I had to go to the bar to enquire where I was told sorry the order hasn't been processed after another 10 mins they eventually came fair to say the mood had gone by now , to be fair they knocked the two deserts of the bill but left on the drink that my mother in law was wearing all over her dress ? all these issues spoilt what we had hoped was going to be a nice meal out and its fair to say I cant see us dining here again any time soon .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Bull At Broughton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent trip to The Bull.

We are sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet our normal high standards of service. We would also like to apologise that you did not feel we dealt with the situation appropriately.

We would appreciate if you could contact us directly on email (manager@thebullatbroughton.com), so we can discuss your experience in more detail. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,
Martin Hurn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 562 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

On the way home from a most enjoyable day out at Bolton Abbey, we stopped at the Bull At Broughton for dinner, our first time there. As it was the night before the gruelling "Tough Mudder" obstacle race nearby, it seemed as though a number of the contestants were there, fortifying themselves with food, drinks and good cheer. The place was truly abuzz with talk of what lay ahead tomorrow. Great atmosphere.

Though we four arrived without a reservation, we were able to be seated straight away. We started with drinks and an order of various "shades" of crusty bread and hummus, accompanied by butter, olive oil and balsamic vinegar for spreading and/or dipping delightfully. As they were unable to provide brown bread in addition to the white, the manager came to the table to both apologise and to inform us that we would not be charged for this pre-meal snack. Extraordinary in my experience, and obviously greatly appreciated.

For main courses, we had two steaks, one pan-fried hake and a pair of starters in the form of a cheese soufflé combined with cauliflower fritters. All were winners, including the "al dente" cooked vegetables of mange tout and green beans. My hake was cooked to perfection, meaning very lightly, thereby retaining the moisture and full flavour, whilst the topping was crusty and nicely-seasoned. Superb!

Two sweets were ordered, one a chocolate pudding, the other a treacle tart served with fresh raspberries and clotted cream. Both were works of art, matched by their sublime taste. I believe that the Bull is part of the Ribble Valley Inns group, which surprises me not in the slightest, as we have always found our meals at the Highwayman near Kirkby Lonsdale much to our liking. Top marks for this group.

All that I might add is that the service was competent and very friendly. The waiting-on staff were most welcoming and attentive before, during and after the meal. Thus, all in all a place that I am pleased to recommend enthusiastically.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Bull At Broughton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to The Bull.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us recently and thank you for such lovely comments. I will be sure to pass these onto all members of staff and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind Regards,
Martin Hurn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yet another wonderful meal enjoyed at The Bull. I love the uncluttered restaurant which still manages to feel cosy and the wonderful food of course. Where we think the Bull excels is with it's customer service, being remembered, even though it's at least three months since our last visit and the discreet and attentive service. The food is local, organic and jolly blooming good, we loved the black pea hummous served with the bread basket. Thanks Martin, Eric and Aaron for another great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DianeAnders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Bull At Broughton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit to The Bull.

It was lovely to see you again recently and thank you for such lovely comments. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us once again!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Martin Hurn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were on holiday in the area and this pub was recommended to us so we were looking forward to it. However, it lacked ambiance, despite the polite attentions of our server. The young man who delivered our food appeared not to know what he was delivering and he only delivered half of what we ordered! Upon chasing this up, a young man named Martin brought the remainder of our meal, apologised and didn't charge us for desserts. This was good of him but we would have preferred a hassle-free meal and a pleasanter experience all round.

Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Bull At Broughton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit with us.

We are sorry to hear your dining experience was not up to our normal high standards and I apologise for the misunderstanding with your order.

We hope that we can improve on this for the next time you visit us.

Kind Regards,
Martin Hurn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Enjoyed a fabulous meal on Saturday early evening with two friends. We chose the Bull as we wanted to eat outside. It can hardly be called a beer garden, more al fresco dining with beautiful garden furniture. The young guy (think he was called Cameron?) appeared to be looking after all us outside diners. He did a sterling job, very attentive and knew the menu very well. I had cheese soufflé with various side dishes and it was just melt in the mouth, followed by a yummy pancake filled with chocolate and nuts. Previous reviewers must have just visited on a bad day as we couldn't fault it, and it was very busy evening having been a very hot day! Definitely recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WendyL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RVI, General Manager at The Bull At Broughton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you for such lovely comments regarding your recent visit to The Bull.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and you enjoyed your food. I will pass your comments onto Cameron and I'm sure he will be very pleased.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Martin Hurn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull At Broughton also viewed

 
Hetton, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bull At Broughton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing