We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten free at the narrowboat”
Review of The Narrow Boat

The Narrow Boat
Ranked #19 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gluten free at the narrowboat”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the narrowboat last weekend during a day out at Skipton.
Main reasons we chose this pub was they are dog friendly and advertise gluten free options on the menu.
The pub did feel like it was lacking atmosphere slightly, however I'm not a local and was only in there a few hours!
Staff were friendly enough on the bar.
Meals reasonably priced and tasted nice
As the gluten free diner I had the pork with mustard mash and veggies. It was really nice I enjoyed it.
My other two diners had the Sunday roast which they also enjoyed.
Would recommend it and would go again.
Nice seating area to the front of the pub too.

Helpful?
Thank caz_bpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    99
    16
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“helpfull staff”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

nice food and friendly staff, asked about gluten free options and the bar staff very helpful going to see chef and check our order got soups main and dessert Ollie was very helpful talking to chef to check gluten free chips , soup and mushroom meal.. luckily another chef was at the bar advising us cheers boys. enjoyed the food and drinks and the helpful staff we will return

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“ Walked out”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We ordered drinks and food. 30 mins later no sign of the food so we asked the waitress for an update of how long it would take. Without going back to the kitchen she said they were just plating up. So, we ordered more drinks. 15 mins later we said we wanted to cancel the order and have a refund. Again we were told they were just plating up. So we again said we weren't happy with a 45 min late and asked for our money back. This was refunded for the food only and we walked out leaving our drinks behind.
There are plenty of great places to eat in Skipton so don't bother wasting your time here.
No sign of any staff and definitely no manager to take responsibility for the shambles.
Two people who came in quite a while after us received their food before we left.

Helpful?
1 Thank Littlepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice pub with good but not exceptional food. Very friendly staff keen on making you feel welcome. Food on offer somewhat Limited, much of the normal pub grub, lasagna was definitely overcooked but very eamty, sausages great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great beer choice and good food too”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent pub with a proper pub atmosphere, great choice of beers which are regular, also good choice of Belguim/German beers both on draft and bottles.

We ate a couple of times during our stay too and although menu was a bit limited the quality was excellent, good home cooked food that was very good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Narrow Boat also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
 

Been to The Narrow Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing