We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation Review Only - Could be lovely, but really needs improvement”
Review of Napier's

Napier's
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napier's
Ranked #14 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Accommodation Review Only - Could be lovely, but really needs improvement”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had arranged to meet some friends in Skipton for the weekend and, as I stupidly left the booking so late, we really struggled to find somewhere central to stay. I booked Napiers through a hotel rooms website and though I felt it was somewhat expensive I went with it as I didn't have a lot of other choice.

I think it's fair to say that the owners have tried, but unfortunately not hard enough. The room we had (Room One) was enormous. The twin beds had been pushed together to make a large double bed. On first glance everywhere was reasonably tidy. However, there is no attention to detail. The 'white' towels are grey, scratchy and do not match, lightbulbs around the mirror in the bathroom do not work, there is a mis-match of jumbled wire, plastic and wooden hangers in the wardrobe, the bath panel on the side of the bath is a sheet of badly fitted hardboard, the skirting boards in the bathroom have been fitted but never stained or painted and are splattered with emulsion from the walls........etc, etc, etc.

The place is also badly in need of a good clean. The plastic strip on the bottom of the shower screen is full of green mould, the fittings around the jets in the jacuzzi bath are dirty, the the combined toilet roll holder and lavatory brush is absolutely thick with dust. I could go on, but I'm sure you get the picture.

Breakfast, too, was disappointing and for an additional £7.50 per head I would have expected far more. As another reviewer has stated, the cooked breakfast seems to be swimming in grease. We were not offered a choice of eggs, we had to ask for jam and marmalade, the butter was rancid, the fried eggs were overcooked.................

However the biggest issue in all the other problems with this accommodation is the noise from the church clock, which is about 50 meters away from the hotel. It chimes through the night every quarter of an hour. And not just a quiet 'ping' - a full trumpet fanfare. The rooms are not double glazed and it was a very hot night the evening we stayed. I think my partner and I got about 2 hours sleep over the whole night. This is mentioned nowhere in the hotel details.

The bill for accommodation and breakfast was £104.00 - and definitely not worth half that.

We won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandMlondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    24
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
57
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Unfortunately the owners went on holiday leaving several untrained staff in charge. As a consequence the whole stay was amateur night


First the good things

Skipton is lovely and the location of the B&B is excellent

Our room ( unlike some other reports on Trip Advisor) was large, clean and with a nice modern bathroom. The bed was probably the best hotel bed ever with nice top of the range cotton sheets. The only negative about the room is inadequate lighting with low wattage energy saving bulbs making it difficult to read in the room

The breakfast was good quality with fresh fruit and the sausages were superb and home made. The bacon was pretty good to. The bread for the toast was awful Mothers Pride


Now for the negatives

- We never got a confirmation of our booking despite two requests

- The day before we saw on the web site that the place was to be closed for a week ( in fact it was the restaurant that was closed). I phoned at least 10 times the number on the web site and either no one answered or when I could get through returned my voice mails. This was worrying as we knew the other hotels in Skipton were booked up because of a festival

- On arrival the owner could only give us one key for the front door even though there was no other way of getting access and we were doing different things. In that the phone was not working this was a worry and having only one key was really inconvenient. To top it the owner disappeared with our one key to try to match it and we wasted a far bit of time

- Breakfast on the first day took over 70 minutes. The cook/waitress seemed to be unaware as to how things worked and said things would be better the next day

- The next day I had to ask three times for a vat invoice over a 30 minute period. The person in charge did not know how to provide a bill and finally provided a till roll receipt which is not the same as a bill. None of the four temporary people knew how to put paper in the credit card machine or how to provide a slip from the credit card machine showing that payment had been made

All this took a further 20 minutes and involved me getting annoyed and the person in charge getting upset ( not her fault she had not been left instructions) We will now have to chase for an invoice and a credit card slip to be sent to us when the owners return from their holiday so that we can fill in an expense return.

Such a shame because this could be a really nice place. We paid £89 a night and expected professional service which we did not get largely I suspect because the owners went on holiday

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in one of the attic rooms. The room left much to be desired, like an old person's bedroom that hadn't been cleaned for ages. It was poky, especially the 'en-suite' which was ridiculously small and required far more agility than either of us has at our disposal. The noise from the dining room far below was deafening after the customers were turned out at midnight they stayed below our window screeching drunkenly for another hour and a half, long after the owners had left - they don't live on site.
The premises are scruffy and the breakfast, heavily boosted by the owner, was no more than okay, although the lady serving it couldn't have been more pleasant. Good points, situation on the edge of town and (limited) parking at the rear, which upgraded from one star to two. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fincaspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Issued with Room 4 - Although clean, an extremely small double bedroom with dated en-suite. Friends issued with Room 5 - as seen on internet picture - very nice. Breakfast very disappointing. Establishment full when we were there and yet it felt we were on 'rations' for breakfast. There was a small variety of cereal and yogurt on offer, plus a 'small' dish of lovely fruit salad but certainly not enough! The cooked breakfast was very fatty and extremely disappointing considering the restaurant is supposed to be so good. The breakfast put us off so we did not try the evening meal. The owners were friendly and the establishment was clean but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windy0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We were really looking forward to our stay as the website photos looked really good. However when we arrived we were disappointed by our room which was small and in need of a serious refresh! There were marks on the pillow case, stains on the carpet, mould all over the windows and a dead pigeon on the roof outside the window!
On the plus side, the staff who served breakfast were really friendly.
In short, the hotel side of the business seems to be neglected and what should have been a treat felt like a rip-off.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebustaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the B & B accommodation on site at the restaurant. The room we stayed in was in the attic and not great for my husband who at six foot three kept having to bend down to get into the room and the bathroom due to the very low beams. The location is great, right in the heart of the village and good if you don't want to drive as there is an on site car park you can leave your car in during your stay. The bedroom we stayed in (room 5) would benefit from a good springclean including the soft furnishings which were a little grubby. The hosts were very obliging, but don't live on site so if you have any problems you just give them a call by telephone. Luckily we didn't have any problems except we couldn't get in when we first arrived, luckily one of the staff ( Emma) who was passing to collect something she had left at the restaurant let us in. We dined in the restaurant on our first night and I enjoyed my steak and there was plenty of choice on the menu. As we were the only people staying in the B & B we could choose what time we have breakfast. The continental breakfast was very nice and the hosts were very attentative. The standard of the room however wasn't reflective of the price we paid which was nearly £90 per night which I did think a little expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegirlswarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The dead plants and rotting apples on the doorstep were an indication of what to expect at Napiers.
I had plenty of time to notice them while we spent 10 minutes waiting for the door to be answered. We were in the process of ringing Napiers when the door was opened.
The welcome was "is that your pick up parked outside?" we answered "no, it isn't". The owner then said "you're upstairs". That was the extent of the welcome.
The windows were filthy, the dining room floor was filthy, chocolate brown towel in the public toilet- opted not to dry my hands on that.
Upside- good location and nice breakfast, served pleasantly.
Overall not good value for money, and having waited two years to have a night on our own away from the kids, wished we'd picked somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
639 reviews
2.6 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napier's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napier's

Property: Napier's
Address: Chapel Hill, Skipton BD23 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napier's 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Napier's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napier's Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing