We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum's Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coffee and Clay

Coffee and Clay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Coffee and Clay is the areas largest "Painted by You" pottery studio, cafe and party venue. We are located on at 14 High Street in Skipton, North Yorkshire. We pride ourselves on having a relaxing cafe downstairs with great homemade food. We've also got a conscience and only serve fairtrade tea and coffee and use eco-friendly products when we can. No appointments are needed. Walk-ins welcome. We carry over 200 different items that are ready to paint, there are no studio fees! All prices cover paint, glaze, and firing! All of our paint is non-toxic. Everything washes out of clothes. We help with hand or footprints. We are here to help as much or as little as you need, from simple hand prints to total custom pieces! We have hundreds of ideas and samples to help inspire you! As well as being a party venue for the children, Coffee and Clay also has an aim to act as an additional community resource for schools and other educational establishments, charities and social groups. Come in today & create a memory that will last a lifetime!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Mum's Treat”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Called in at Skipton on the way home from a weekend in York and Harrogate. Been many times but missed this little gem. We walked passed it then turned back, it was the fair trade and home made baking that caught our eye. We sat outside it was a lovely day and was given a menu in minutes, then soon after the girl took our order. The coffees, hot chocolate and scones were just what we needed, they were deliciously fresh and tasty. It was my Mum's 81st Birthday weekend and what a nice surprise to find a clean little Tea Shop with good service and value for money. Will certainly return next time were there and would highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Glad you and your Mum enjoyed your time with us . We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    9
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great rainy day experience!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Camping in the dales on a rainy day we googled 'pottery painting'. Coffee and clay was thrown up so we called them.

The girl was like a ray of sunshine! No we didn't have to book, yes there were tables available then but if there weren't when we arrived we found have a drink in the cafe while we waited.

Our children aged 12, 9, 8 and 7 boys and girls chose an item to paint easily and I found the range more practical than some with lots of usable items rather than ornaments. The tables were clean and easily organised and the children settled into painting while we sat in the cafe downstairs and enjoyed the delicious cake!

Staff were very friendly and helpful when asked but didn't over bear and we never felt rushed, in fact the children were hungry so came downstairs to eat and then returned to paint!

The cafe seemed full of locals which is a sign that the food is good and reasonably priced, which is how we found it. Read some funny reviews about space and the stairs. This business works well with the space it has and many don't offer baby changing at all, this one has managed to find a way to offer that service.

All in all a really enjoyable way to spend 3 hours, very worth the money and would definitely return next year when we visit the dales again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Pottery is a great activity on rainy days ( and not so rainy ) , its also slightly addictive! we are so chuffed you enjoyed your painting experience and equally liked your art work . see you soon!
Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very fun and relaxing”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great way to spend the morning and get your creative juices flowing. Depending on what you paint you can get good value. It is a nice alternative to a regular cafe visit. When you aren't with children it can be a bit off putting with some of the noise from other groups with children but after all, it is aimed at families.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
We're loving the Greek salad too , and love trying out seasonal dishes on our specials menu . Always a pleasure to welcome little ones , and we accommodate the prams wherever we can squeeze in - no one is ever turned away ! Look forward to seeing you both again very soon ! Thanks for the positive review - it's reassuring were doing things right .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Really family friendly and great food. I have been a few times and they are very good with young children. The pottery is fun- my 3 year old loves it (and the cakes!). Will definitely be returning

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oliveandbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely staff so great atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

On a wet day in school holidays you can't beat Coffee and Clay! We only had time for a drink and snack but saw families going up to the pottery area and enjoyed seeing some of the reults of their work. All seemed to really enjoy themselves. Obviously you have to collect clay work on a day after it is fired. The Millionnaire's slice is 'to die for' according to my young companion, but is huge so share between at least 2 people. The young staff are super and very helpful. Just a shame it isn't a larger place as some seat feel a bit crammed in by the counter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leximum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee and Clay also viewed

Bentham, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Coffee and Clay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing