We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coffee and Clay

Coffee and Clay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Coffee and Clay is the areas largest "Painted by You" pottery studio, cafe and party venue. We are located on at 14 High Street in Skipton, North Yorkshire. We pride ourselves on having a relaxing cafe downstairs with great homemade food. We've also got a conscience and only serve fairtrade tea and coffee and use eco-friendly products when we can. No appointments are needed. Walk-ins welcome. We carry over 200 different items that are ready to paint, there are no studio fees! All prices cover paint, glaze, and firing! All of our paint is non-toxic. Everything washes out of clothes. We help with hand or footprints. We are here to help as much or as little as you need, from simple hand prints to total custom pieces! We have hundreds of ideas and samples to help inspire you! As well as being a party venue for the children, Coffee and Clay also has an aim to act as an additional community resource for schools and other educational establishments, charities and social groups. Come in today & create a memory that will last a lifetime!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Coffee stop”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for quick coffee to recharge batteries mid mooch. Coffee was yummy and seating area though bit cramped was clean and tidy. Reasonably priced brew and I nipped loo before leaving. That too was clean and tidy.
All in all pleasant stop

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Mandy
Thanks for visiting us , glad you enjoyed your visit and that you approved of our clean toilets . look forward to seeing you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    9
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We popped in here the other day for coffee and a cake. In our party we had an enthusiastic toddler who wanted the baby chino (frothy milk in an espresso cup) and a cake. Both were fine as was the coffee we ordered (quite a few granules in the cup) but the diet coke was appalling. It tasted soapy and the waitress said she was aware of the problem and I felt she was reluctant to swap it saying others had complained that it tasted different. It didn't taste different....it tasted bad. However it was then swapped for a cup of tea.
***I think that the post mix tubes had been cleaned with a soapy solution judging by the taste and not flushed well enough, also the syrup needs turning up.**** In addition to this our table felt a little sticky.

I have been before when we have painted pots and that is great fun!! This review was just on this particular experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nothingbutthetruth28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Good Evening!
Thank you for taking time out to review our cafe and pottery studio - great to hear youve enjoyed the painting experience previously .
Sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your drink- We have had a couple of issues with our coke machine , but have it serviced and tested on a regular basis, and Im with you there - post mix coca cola never quite tastes the same as coke in a can !
We also stock fizzy drinks from The fentiman range - traditional ginger beer and dandilion and burdock - they are sold in bottles , taste fab !
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Cheers
Kind regards
Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tea and cakes”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Popped in yesterday for tea and a slice of cake - I'll be honest we were planning on going to java or the Russian tea rooms but they were closed ( Russian tea room looked permanently closed ? ) - we just had a quick tea coffee and cake to warm up on a Cold day and it was ok - nothing to complain about - staff were friendly - service was quick - was ok

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi Gillian
Thanks for your review ,glad to hear you enjoyed your tea and cakes and friendly service -Look forward to welcoming you back soon ......and your right the russian tea rooms have now closed down .
Kind Regards
Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

In a word, lazy. Ordreed tea and scones, which should have been a treat on such a cold day. They arrived dry and cold, and apparently sqirty cream from a can is sufficient to charge almost £1 more for. Bad form, and really disappointing. I appreciate the clay studio is a bit of a novelty, but the food is certainly not worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank combels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for taking time out to review us and we are sorry to hear things didnt reach your expectations this time .
We dont actually use "squirty cream " but a cream whipping system called the Kissag Whipper used by all the top chefs including Heston Blumenthal (it uses fresh cream and a special compressed gas) .... and if its good enough for him , its good enough for us! Hope youll try us again in the future and enjoy our range of homemade food and drinks.
Regards
Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable painting session”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I have been to coffee and Clay several times over the years and painted lots of things which I am delighted with. Today I took a friend's mum who has never been before and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and are both delighted with our handiwork and can't wait to see the finished products. Glenys and her staff are incredibly helpful and offer help and advice whenever it is needed. There are lots of items already painted which gives you ideas. We had a lovely lunch and can recommend the experience to anyone. You definitely don't need to be artistic, neither of us are, but we really enjoyed our afternoon. Thanks to all concerned.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skipton1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review . Our aim is to give an enjoyable experience so we are thrilled to hear your comments . Thanks agian for visiting and we hope to see you again soon .
Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee and Clay also viewed

Bentham, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Coffee and Clay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing