We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Child friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coffee and Clay

Coffee and Clay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Coffee and Clay is the areas largest "Painted by You" pottery studio, cafe and party venue. We are located on at 14 High Street in Skipton, North Yorkshire. We pride ourselves on having a relaxing cafe downstairs with great homemade food. We've also got a conscience and only serve fairtrade tea and coffee and use eco-friendly products when we can. No appointments are needed. Walk-ins welcome. We carry over 200 different items that are ready to paint, there are no studio fees! All prices cover paint, glaze, and firing! All of our paint is non-toxic. Everything washes out of clothes. We help with hand or footprints. We are here to help as much or as little as you need, from simple hand prints to total custom pieces! We have hundreds of ideas and samples to help inspire you! As well as being a party venue for the children, Coffee and Clay also has an aim to act as an additional community resource for schools and other educational establishments, charities and social groups. Come in today & create a memory that will last a lifetime!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful place. The painting pottery activity is a must for anyone living in skipton, the kids love it. The foods good and child friendly, high chairs available and great cake.

Helpful?
Thank Anonymous01112008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for visiting us and your kind words . We try very hard to make our place child friendly and so glad you found it suitable for your family . Would love to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    9
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
411 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good menu choice, bright light cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I loved the tiles around the walls providing bright messages.
Good service, lovely food, a really nice choice, we both had toasted sandwiches which came with salad, a coke and a milkshake.
Negative, only one toilet and one baby change.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi there!
Thank you for your visit and your positive comments . We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and look forward to welcoming you back very soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great activity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

When we visit Coffee and Clay our main aim is to paint pottery though we've eaten there and always get drinks. The quality has always been good and the service excellent.

It's a fab place to go with kids and I always recommend it to people who stay in my Holiday Cottage. Even if you don't have kids but like arty stuff it's worth a visit! I have to refrain from taking over my children's items!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Gemma,
We love pottery painting too ( infact we are addicted !) Its a gret activity to do with kids on a rainy day or at our monthy workshop for grown ups ! We look forward to welcoming you and your holiday guests again soon . Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family friendly!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Having a 5 year old and a newborn baby we didn't want to go far!! Having heard about Coffee and Clay we decided to go there. It was the best idea. Very child friendly and breast feeding was welcomed which made me comfortable as it is difficult for a woman as it is!! Staff were very friendly and helpful. So whilst my daughter and her dad enjoyed pottery I enjoyed a bit of bonding with my baby over delicious corn beef hash!! You must all try it!!Will definitely be returning!!!

Helpful?
Thank Kat2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Kat
Thank you for your positive comments . We try so hard to make our cafe family friendly , with special childrens menus, bottle warmng, high chairs , baby changing facilities and so glad you felt comfortable breast feeding as I know how tricky this can be. See you again soon with your gorgeous children .
G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Coffee stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for quick coffee to recharge batteries mid mooch. Coffee was yummy and seating area though bit cramped was clean and tidy. Reasonably priced brew and I nipped loo before leaving. That too was clean and tidy.
All in all pleasant stop

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Mandy
Thanks for visiting us , glad you enjoyed your visit and that you approved of our clean toilets . look forward to seeing you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee and Clay also viewed

Bentham, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Coffee and Clay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing