We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Skipton Castle

Skipton Castle
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Pleasant hour touring the castle, I expected it to be more imposing like Conway or caernarfon castle, it was on a much smaller scale, but definatly interesting there's a guide or two if you would like to ask any questions and all the rooms have information about what the rooms were used for, also ask one of the guides for directions to the castle woods, ( we may have missed these otherwise ) we did and spent an hour or two wandering along the pathways through the woods, really enjoyed the ramble, it was a very hot day but there was seating throughout the woods to take a well earned rest highly recommend!

Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    447
    121
    43
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
310 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“A pleasant couple of hours in Skipton”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Today Carol and I drove from Preston to Leeds and decided to stop for a while in Skipton. We had seen the Tour go through on TV and it looked like a lovely town. We were not disappointed. We saw the old castle and the beautiful medieval church. We wandered down to the canal and saw the narrow boats for hire in the basin. We stopped for a pint t the Narrow Boat Inn which I have reviewed separately. A very worthwhile stop off!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JonathanSuch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This castle has to be the best preserved and complete medieval castle in the British Isles. Remarkable, considering it has survived the Civil War & Oliver Cromwell. Dating from 1090 and strengthened in 1310, the castle has repelled all attempts at invasion and still looks good. The tour is fascinating and the guides very knowledgeable. Well worth the entrance fee.

Helpful?
4 Thank BobBate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We thought it was very interesting and really enjoyed it.The fact sheet you get with the admission was great as it explained everything about the castle,s history in detail through small picture,s.
There,s a shop which had plenty of interesting thing,s to buy and not too expensive but the cafe was a little overpriced,clog dancing was very good and it was a very nice visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank madrednige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I thought looking round Skipton castle would be good but it should re brand its self as the Skipton castle ruins a few old mouldy rooms with very little thought to the buying public in my view not worth the £7.50 entrance fee it might have been better if you could get access to the family quarters

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipton Castle also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Skipton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing