We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fantastic staff”
Review of Skipton Castle

Skipton Castle
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The castle is superb, the sheet to help you around is very helpful but the real bonus is the knowledge of the staff. My wife 3 children and I waited in the entrance area following our visit as the rain was heavy, the gentleman at the reception area filled us with facts whilst we waited. Thankyou.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bibster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    437
    121
    41
    21
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Ancient castle still in good nick”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Considering its age, Skipton castle is doing well. The castle was beautiful and there was lots of great historical information. You were able to visit most parts of the castle which was good. The pricing was a little steep but acceptable. Parking was a decent distance away though and costly. Would definitely recommend if you like castles. We saw the whole thing within an hour and it was not busy which was good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladvonbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Car parking”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Skipton Castle now has it's own dedicated car park, drive up "The Bailey" past the castle and the car park is on your left.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank ALPINESkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A very well-organised tour”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Skipton Castle is located almost in the centre of that busy market town, and is therefore easy to reach and without having to climb to the top of a steep hill.
The visit is very carefully set out in an easy-to-follow one-sheet leaflet, which systematically takes you round all the rooms and places in the tour, with simple descriptions and even drawings to ensure that the visitor is in the right place.
The castle itself is well-preserved and full of fascinating features that all visitors will find interesting and relevant. Our party, which included five children, found it an absorbing visit, and far from boring, despite the number of steep and narrow staircases to be climbed.
All in all, I would strongly recommend it to all visitors to Skipton.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What an amazing castle, loved the plaques in each room giving information- my imagination ran wild! So lovely that we could take our dog in the castle. A little bit difficult to those with mobility problems due to the number of steep steps.. Fantastic shop (website does not do it justice) and the tea rooms are lovely with room to sit outside. The castle guides are so friendly and helpful. Easy to get to from the town centre.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipton Castle also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Skipton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing