We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as tasty”

The Dales Cottage Cafe
Ranked #26 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have had better in this cafe, food was not as tasty as in the past. Service was good as usual and we didn't have to the usual wait for a table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank postcard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    41
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Otley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the dales cottage cafe and grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

What an excellent cosy comfortable cafe. we have been going to this lovely place for the last 10 years, one a month at least ! Fabulous food, always hot and presented well. Staff are great and welcoming and know the routine well. Best value in Skipton for food and service I am positive. None of this waiting around for over half an hour before you get anything to eat. Excellent in every aspect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always first class food & service at a fair price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We dine here around 4 times a year, always first class service & food in clean surroundings.The waitresses are always smart & polite & look after our every need. We make sure we arrive by 11.20 am to get a table as it get's very busy before noon. Often a queue outside the door as we leave!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bushy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I visited the Dales Cottage Cafe with my husband on the 7th September 2013. Having never been to Skipton before, it was pot luck where we had lunch. We decided to try the cafe simply because it looked nice. We were very glad that we did. The menu choice was really good and the service faultless. The food arrived without too long a wait and when it did we were very impressed. Our meals looked good and tasted better. Fresh cooked and delicious. We wish it were nearer to where we live, we would be regulars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spot On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This restaurant is tucked away behind the Albion pub in Skipton. It has blackboards outside with a large choice of meals. This is our second visit and it was as superb as the first. The place was very busy but once ordered the food arrived within five minutes. We both chose the braised steak dinner and were delighted with our choice as it could not be faulted, it was delicious and served by very polite staff, The price was very reasonable and would only have got us a baguette etc in other eateries. One small moan, the desert was absolutely red hot and I had to wait quite a while for it to cool down and a bit more treacle on the sponge would have made a world of difference. Look forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenda107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dales Cottage Cafe also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Dales Cottage Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing