We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Race trip breakfast”
Review of Cross Keys

Cross Keys
Ranked #21 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Idling on the banks of the Leeds-Liverpool canal, where the red rose meets the white rose you'll discover the Cross Keys Inn. Built in the seventeenth century, the Cross Keys has been brought back to life and is returning to it's roots where weary travellers, walkers, foodies and real ale lovers can meet and enjoy home-cooked food,real log fires, English craft beers, lagers and ciders. Whether you're stopping to take the weight off your feet and have a coffee or looking for a hearty meal, a warm welcome awaits you all. Muddy boots, a well behaved dog and a smiley face are always welcome.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Race trip breakfast”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked the Cross Keys to kick off our race day trip en route to York to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. 29 of us descended on this country inn on Saturday 12th July. Rachel, the manageress, accommodated all our wishes - opened up the bar at 9.00 a.m., served a delicious breakfast at 9.30 a.m. and we were on our way to York at 10.30 a.m. as planned. Without exception all our guests praised the welcome we received, the ambience of the pub and the quality of the breakfast. Thank you to all the staff at the Cross Keys for helping to make our day so special would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank TheWanderers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    76
    17
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, good beer”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Lunch here after pleasant cruise up from Greenberfield, old pub with nice character, excellent Copper Dragon beers, decent menu, and good well presented tasty food. What more do you need

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Called in with my wife en route home, from visiting in Ripon. Had a lovely meal - the Lamb for my wife, and Fish and Chips for me. Both meals ample, delicious, and value for money. Nice ambience about the place, and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. Good selection of beers at standard prices. Only (slight) criticism was that the table we selected was slightly dirty, having not been immediately cleaned after the previous guests. But once pointed out to staff, it received immediate attention - but really should not have been necessary in the first place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Steak & Ale pie to die for”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Visited the Cross Keys twice in 5 days during a canal boat holiday. A number of hand pulled ales from the Skipton brewery were available and the Copper Dragon Best Bitter was most enjoyable. The usual fizzy keg beers & lagers were also on offer

The menu was quite varied and first time round I opted for gammon steak topped with leeks & cheese. The gammon was a good size, an inch thick & the topping was delicious. It came with chunky chips and a sprinkling of salad which left me feeling a few vegetables would have been nice. A bit dear at £11 for what it was but the quality could not be faulted.

On our return I tried the Steak & Ale pie. which turned out to be a top choice. The pie was chock full with chunks of steak with a tasty gravy. It came with an assortment of vegetables which were cooked perfectly for my liking being hot & slightly crunchy. Chunky chips rounded off an excellent meal. The service on both visits was fine.

The acid test of eateries is would you go back and the answer in the case of the Cross Keys is a resounding yes

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were out with friends and decided after 10 pin bowling in skipton to stop at the first hotel/restaurant we came to. What a disaster. We ordered drinks at the bar,there were two ladies behind bar chatting,my wife asked for lemon and lime after finding our seat she decided she had got soda and lime. They were so busy chatting we might as well have not been there. We asked if we had to order food at the bar and was told here at the bar. I think they need lessons in customer service. Then my wife noticed the chef floating about and she decided his apron was in need of a good clean in her opinion. If that was his personal hygiene what was the food like with that we walked out. Had the bar staff been up to standard friendly ,helpful we might just might have tried the food. From there we went to brown cow at chatburn wow what a difference .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive007Burnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Keys also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing