We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Kong's

Kong's
Ranked #44 of 150 Restaurants in Skipton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We went for a family meal out the food was great but after we finished our food my dad tipped one of the waiters and she said they don't even get it it goes in to the business so he said that's not right fair so he got his money back and we finished our drink and left
Waiters and staff should get tips

Helpful?
4 Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headohfmv, Owner at Kong's, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Shane

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your visit to our restaurant. We appreciate any and all feedback from our customers.

In response to the issue regarding tips please note that as we have various waiting staff working the same tables it is difficult to give individual tips to each member of staff as each member spends a different amount of time with each table and customer. In order to combat this we have a system in place where staff receive a bonus each week and this takes into account various aspects of their work including tips. This bonus is paid regardless of whether they work on a weekday or weekend and whether or not they actually receive any tips during their shift(s). So they may actually receive a bonus even when they have not received any tips during the week.

I hope this helps to clarify this issue and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kongs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots to choose from...”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had the all you can eat buffet and we was very impressed by the quality and quantity of the food would definitely go here again. Staff were very polite and welcoming!

Helpful?
Thank K David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Very Good!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday evening and chose the buffet option. Lots of choice and top quality food. Nice atmosphere. Really can't fault anything. We will definitely be back.
One note of caution however. We have been for Sunday lunch buffet which is also excellent with a little less choice and only £5.99. Unfortunately also attracts a different clientele.
Worth paying extra and enjoy the evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Chinese buffet”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Tucked away on Water Street opposite the coach / car park Kong's is an inexpensive restaurant offering good food at a very reasonable price. Looking for somewhere for Sunday lunch my wife and I spotted Kong's and decided Chinese would be a nice alternative. The restaurant is small but nicely laid out. Clean well appointed
The lunchtime choice whilst small was ample. Choice of two soups, nice selection of starters, nice selection of mains and (unusual for a Chinese -as they don't seem to do dessert other than fruit cocktail & ice cream) a good selection of desserts.
As you would expect go back as often as you want.
We were met with a warm friendly reception. Chose where to sit. After explaining the layout left to eat and converse uninterrupted. Great service as the staff were vigilant in clearing away for you but were very much in the background so you don't feel hassled. The staff were great and you were left to enjoy at your own pace no hassle.
I would highly recommend checking Kong's out. Idesal for a lunch especially as a refreshing change to traditional Sunday lunch as we had been out the previous couple of weeks. Better value than most Sunday lunch pubmeals at £5.99 for a Sunday lunch buffet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinny_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and plenty of it!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The owner was very helpful, Stacey helped us choose our meal and explained what was available on the buffet. Very friendly bright place to eat. Food was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CJH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kong's also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Cononley, Skipton
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Kong's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing