We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for kids including big kids(adults”

Billy-Bob's Parlour
Ranked #10 of 157 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 11 May 2014

varied menu taking you back to the American Diner experience and OF COURSE Yorkshire Dales ice cream yuuuum!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank issy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,390 - 1,394 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited this place, 4 kids and 3 adults. Having paid £1 to play all seemed to be going well. We have been on numerous occasions, even had a birthday party for my son there. All kids enjoy it. After browsing the menu for the kids (all under 5) 2 have lactose allergies & another is very fussy. There was nothing to offer them, so decided to give ice cream then go eat somewhere else. But as you know kids get antsy so we decided to give them 1 biscuit each, to put them on. The owner told us very rudely no food was allowed. Which is fair enough. We took the kids back to the car where they finished their biscuits in the car whilst an adult went to buy ice cream. The owner then came over to us, and told us we obviously weren't understanding him so we had to leave. We were freeloading!! How rude. We already bought drinks & were buying ice cream but that didn't matter. The whole place would run so much better if you had a picnic area but charged a bit more to get in. Everyone would pay, plus you would still get those picnickers buying ice creams and drinks etc. There is no need to be so rude to people for a misunderstanding. One of the kids who was 4 was very upset 'the mean man had shouted at us' which I find very upsetting as a parent that all the kids witnessed that, the owner having to regard for young kids or vulnerable women on their own. When the kids asked to go back, they were told a very firm NO! Never again. Other people do take note of bad feedback... Its all stems from somewhere... The mean owner.

On the upside, the ice cream is tasty but not worth the hassle!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mystshop30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I took my 2 children (2 and 5) on a Bank Holiday Monday, obviously expecting it to be busy but hoping for a fun afternoon. We'd excitedly planned our lunch from the online menu. We arrived to find the play area so packed that children were literally being trodden on. The wooden doors on the fire engine have no safety catches to prevent trapped fingers; in 5 minutes I saw 2 children injured like this. There were no restrictions on the number of people coming in and they clearly care more about packing people in to spend money on the food than about safety. So the food... I'm sure it's great, if you get any. The system is ridiculous; you have to have a table before you can order in the restaurant area. You cannot book a table in advance. There is no table service, so you have to fight for your table first, then queue. The queue took 30 mins before we realised we needed a table first. As a single parent, this was completely impossible; should I leave the 5 year old guarding the table for 30 mins while I queued?! I'm sure it's lovely if you're in a group, and it's a rainy school day. Absolutely no chance we will be going back to find out though!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank FLT949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time here, haven't eaten here before so wasn't sure what to expect. Went inside to be told there was a 2-3 hours wait with 4 kids in tow all very hungry this just was not a possibility so we decided to go outside to try our look, it was a bank holiday so it was mega busy, didn't enjoy doing it be we had to linger about people who had finished eating to jump in when they got up, not ideal and I felt quite rude. They told us wait was 40 minutes but it was more going on a hour food was delicious and no complaints from any of our party of 8.
Queues for ladies toilet is a bit much as there's only 3 this needs to be addressed you can't cater for all these people and not have the facilities to cope.
Ice cream queue was long but it went down very quickly and it was just the best ice cream, well worth the wait.
Park area is fantastic not one complaint about this.
It is well worth a visit great food and fab park we will definitely return.

Thank head2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YDIC, Manager at Billy-Bob's Parlour, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi head2, Thanks for the review and great to hear you had a lovely day! Bank Holiday weekend was particularly busy with all that sunny weather we had, and we’re sorry that you felt the strain on our facilities and kitchens that day – we do aim for a quicker food service time than you experienced. We’re so chuffed though to hear how much you enjoyed the food once it did arrive and your ice creams, and we look forward to seeing you when you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had our first visit to Billy-bobs today after a few recommendations and altho the food was nice, it wasn't anything spectacular. The portion sizes were adequate but you need to order a side to make a full meal, which pushes the price up. The kids really enjoyed their meal, however it would be nice to have an option of having corn off the cob for the younger diners. The coleslaw served up with the pulled pork was one of the nicest meal accompaniments I have tasted, and was a little disappointed I ordered a side of fries rather than more coleslaw!
The ice cream however was delicious and the choice of flavours amazing.
The kids enjoyed the outdoor park area and despite how busy it was there was plenty for them to do in there.
It is worth noting if you are to go on a warm sunny day expect a long wait! We arrived at 2pm to a 90 minute wait to be seated inside or just to try and grab a table outside if and when became avaliable - which made it a free for all. I would definitely visit again but maybe for a special occasion rather than just a day out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kayleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy-Bob's Parlour also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Billy-Bob's Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing