We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #29 of 147 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is founded in 2011. It is new to this town but Thai restaurants are not new to our experiences. We are a group of people who are passionate about food and have an overwhelming desire to create our own family restaurant where we can cook a good quality of food in a good atmosphere. We started our dream by renting a restaurant in Shipley, and then stepped forward to found our own restaurant in Skipton, the small historic market town in North Yorkshire with beautiful scenery, this makes it a perfect place for us.---Our Promises--- We promise to prepare and cook every dish with pride, using the finest ingredients and vegetables sourced locally, to create not only delicious but also healthy food for our customers.The tasty food is cooked by a chef of vast experience who worked for many years in a 5-star hotel in Thailand and in Thai restaurants in the UK. Not only do we aim to make tasty food we also strive to provide a friendly and excellent service in a smart and intimate dinning atmosphere.Our high standards of cleanliness are proven by achieving a5-star rating in Food Hygiene. We also have an excellent reputation given by our customers on Trip Advisor which ranks us amongst the top restaurants in Skipton. You can trust us to ensure that you will spend a wonderful time here, and you will want to come back again and again.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We returned to the Thai Basil with two 'foodies' to see if they thought the restaurant was as good as we previously experienced. They agreed with us that the meal and service were first class. the food is delicious and the atmosphere delightful. How lovely we have this place in skipton.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank LostInTheHillsMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    49
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
telford
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“authentic thai cusine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

i visited thai basil over christmas with my family and was really impressed
inside is surprisingly nice as from the outside it looks like your average terrace house
the staff were friendly and helpful
the menu was varied - we picked a few dishes from the specials and they were all very nice so i would recommend those dishes over the normal menu
the food was really tasty and reasonably priced
my only negative comment would be that of the 5 main courses we ordered 3 were wrong - the dish was right but the meat was wrong i.e. salmon instead of sea bass - they corrected the order and everything was lovely

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iceland_poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One word SUPERB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Absolutely outstanding, the staff were lovely and the food was absolutely amazing!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nic1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food in a cosy setting with great service and good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I found this new Thai restaurant on Trip Advisor and being a lover of Thai food could not resist a visit. Four of us booked a table for Friday night and we found the place quite easily, although the website is not fully functional at the time of writing and there is some issue over the correct postcode.

The restaurant is located in a converted large Victorian terrace and has previously been a Greek restaurant. The layout is brasserie style, but not too cramped.

On arrival we were please to see the place was almost full, always a good sign and we were welcomed in and offered drinks at the table, as there is no lounge.

Another reviewer said that prices were too high, but we all thought that the food and all drinks were very reasonable and we chose a bottle of Chardonnay at £13.95 which was very acceptable and enjoyed Singha Beer. Service was very friendly with our questions being answered knowledgeably with a smile and good advise given on food choices.

The starters were all wonderful and we swapped plates to enjoy a selection of each, BBQ spare ribs were declared the finest, but all were good. Nothing too spicy at this stage.

Main courses are marked with red chilli icons to denote heat, with 3 chillies being hottest and we ordered a selection of 1, 2 and 3 chilli mains, with duck, beef, chicken and sea bass. None were too spicy for us although the difference between 2 and 3 chilli only becoming apparent after a few minutes, so I'd stick to 1 or 2 if spice is not your thing. We ordered egg fried rice and egg noodles as an accompaniment.

All the food were obviously home made and each very different, with individual sauces and garnishes for each. We shared a little of each others food and I could have eaten any of them, so deep was the flavor and well balanced in spice and acidity, wonderful!

I particularly enjoyed the steamed Sea Bass (1 chilli), fresh tasting and finished with lime juice. It was refreshing and delicately spiced. Though I would recommend sharing with someone else or enjoy as an intermediate course, if you prefer a spicy curry, or are greedy, like me.

Another pleasant surprise was the intricately carved vegetable garnishes on both starters and main courses, beautiful, very attractive and mostly edible.

Sweets were only taken by two of us, as we were full, but the orange and mango ice cream and bananas in coconut milk (hot) were wolfed down.

Total bill for all the food, a bottle of wine and 5 bottles of Singha beer was £111.00, which we though very good value.

All in all a superb Thai dinner with fantastic food, good efficient service and friendly staff. We'll be back. Soon!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DashDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It's a hidden gem you have to find in Skipton - and I'm the Town Manager!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I wanted to start writing reviews about restaurants in Skipton when I decided after trying them all, most were good quality and others were excellent. So here goes, my first review.

I am the Skipton Town Manager and do see myself somewhat as a bit of a foodie. I also take no notice of what people write on these trip advisors myself...but here's hoping some people do read and take in my views - and they are exactly that...my views and not that of the Town Council where I work.

Anyway, back to the matter in hand...the Thai Basil restaurant.

This restaurant is located a very short walk from the centre of Skipton, just past the famous Bizzie Lizzies Fish & Chip restaurant. If you have come to B&M's and Morrissons, you have walked too far!

It has lovely decor which is in keeping with the lovely Thai Family that run it and their heritage.

The food is amazing and I have been back many times since it opened just a few months ago. It's well worth a visit.

I would chose the mixed starter, so that you get chance to try a bit of everything and then I am partial to a good Red Curry - so this tends to be a first choice of mine, and it doesn't disappoint.

Prices are reasonable - expect to pay around £10 for a main. After a starter for two, two beers, a bottle of red, two mains with rice and two desserts the total bill was just over £60. Some would say on the expensive side, but the food is so nice.

Try it once...see for yourself.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BrettBButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing