We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill?!”
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #26 of 150 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is founded in 2011. It is new to this town but Thai restaurants are not new to our experiences. We are a group of people who are passionate about food and have an overwhelming desire to create our own family restaurant where we can cook a good quality of food in a good atmosphere. We started our dream by renting a restaurant in Shipley, and then stepped forward to found our own restaurant in Skipton, the small historic market town in North Yorkshire with beautiful scenery, this makes it a perfect place for us.---Our Promises--- We promise to prepare and cook every dish with pride, using the finest ingredients and vegetables sourced locally, to create not only delicious but also healthy food for our customers.The tasty food is cooked by a chef of vast experience who worked for many years in a 5-star hotel in Thailand and in Thai restaurants in the UK. Not only do we aim to make tasty food we also strive to provide a friendly and excellent service in a smart and intimate dinning atmosphere.Our high standards of cleanliness are proven by achieving a5-star rating in Food Hygiene. We also have an excellent reputation given by our customers on Trip Advisor which ranks us amongst the top restaurants in Skipton. You can trust us to ensure that you will spend a wonderful time here, and you will want to come back again and again.
Skipton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Going downhill?!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

As a local an regular visitor to this restaurant I wanted to write a review in the hope to restaurant itself might take note. When this place opened be food was excellent. Good quality ingredients and great flavours. Service has always been and still remains to be brilliant. However over my last three visits the food has gone downhill massively. Noticeably cheaper meat/chicken being used and previously loved dishes now tasteless in comparison. I wonder if there has been a change in new supplier and a new chef, however it's something that needs action. This restaurant would have previously been my first choice in Skipton and one I would recommend to friends. However unless I hear things improve I will not be going back or recommending this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiptonHarris, Manager at Thai Basil, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
I am sorry to hear of your displeasure. We still have the same chef we have had from the start (the owner). We also haven't changed meat suppliers but we are looking into the possibility that they have altered what they are giving us. Personally I haven't noticed a change in the meat quality from eating here each week but I can assure you we have taken both your reviews into account and seriously looking at the meat that is used in the dishes. I do hope that your recent experience won't detour you from coming again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    51
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful meat quality”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Have been to this place many times over the past year. Each time I go back I'm being served worse & worse quality of meat. The chicken is clearly very cheap but the cheapness is not reflected in the high price. I won't be going back until the quality of ingredients changes. I really hope they read this, because its the only thing wrong with the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice friendly restaurant, little disappointed with the food”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I arrived alone fairly late & chose this place because of good reviews & I love Thai food. The dining room was very nice & the staff friendly, as always with the Thai people. However I'm so sorry, I was a little disappointed with the pad thai, a favourite dish of mine but I found it greasy & lacking flavour. Sorry guys.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEJOG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Food, drinks, service and place all excellent on our first visit would definitely recommend and will return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great is was fab”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The staff were helpful, the food was lovely would recommend

Lots of choice

The wine was lovely - we had a large group and it was spot on

The cost was cheap

Great 1st class

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing