We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #28 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant is founded in 2011. It is new to this town but Thai restaurants are not new to our experiences. We are a group of people who are passionate about food and have an overwhelming desire to create our own family restaurant where we can cook a good quality of food in a good atmosphere. We started our dream by renting a restaurant in Shipley, and then stepped forward to found our own restaurant in Skipton, the small historic market town in North Yorkshire with beautiful scenery, this makes it a perfect place for us.---Our Promises--- We promise to prepare and cook every dish with pride, using the finest ingredients and vegetables sourced locally, to create not only delicious but also healthy food for our customers.The tasty food is cooked by a chef of vast experience who worked for many years in a 5-star hotel in Thailand and in Thai restaurants in the UK. Not only do we aim to make tasty food we also strive to provide a friendly and excellent service in a smart and intimate dinning atmosphere.Our high standards of cleanliness are proven by achieving a5-star rating in Food Hygiene. We also have an excellent reputation given by our customers on Trip Advisor which ranks us amongst the top restaurants in Skipton. You can trust us to ensure that you will spend a wonderful time here, and you will want to come back again and again.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Went here for a quiet meal - food was great, service good and a very relaxed feel to the place - will definitely be going back!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    51
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice Thai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Really excellent Thai , I enjoyed a couple of meals here and enjoyed both. A small restaurant but good service and not expensive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Nice Would Recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and i really like this restaurant. The red curry is to die for. It's a small intimate place with good service. There are two reasons why i haven't given 5 stars. 1) If you visit for an evening meal, the price soon escalates. It's slightly over priced in my opinion when comparing to the average price of an Indian, which is similar in composition. 2) The food is great but i would like to portions to be a little bigger. That said, i have always had a great time and enjoyed our visits. The early afternoon special is excellent value as a cheaper alternative.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guitarzilla74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have only eaten lunch here but both times, it was delicious. Vibrant Thai flavours and just the thing for a cold day! Lovely staff and well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulietNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Presentation and welcome excellent but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

No care had been spared in carving the flower-shapes made from vegetables, the sticky rice came in its own bamboo container, the fried rice dish was presented elegantly as a 'bombe' and the lady, whom I imagine may be the owner, was eastern courtesy personified. The chicken pieces and satay sauce, the spring rolls and the green curry were all fine.
The pork in black bean sauce, however, was very disappointing, the meat very gristly. On a minor note, the Singha beer could have been colder. But, to be fair, the charming lady in a very professional manner did knock half the price from the pork dish and the restaurant itself is an agreeable space.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing