We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get "what it says on the tin!"”
Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Unicorn
Ranked #5 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“you get "what it says on the tin!"”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A very cheap bed and breakfast in the heart of Skipton.

We had room 5 which as £60 quite for the night including breakfast.

Clean

Great Breakfast

Superb Location

Friendly Owners

Warm

Comfy Bed

Larger than Average Room

However:

No parking but we did manage to park on the street outside.

Cold Water in Bathroom labelled "not for drinking" so you have to use the bottled water found on the landing.

Room a little "tired" with wallpaper coming away and very few finishing touches.

Overall:

We would stay again... This is good value for money.... But you may prefer something a little more upmarket for a special event.

You get exactly what it 'says on the tin!'

Nice and friendly budget B and B with young owners who make you very welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed a the front of the hotel in room 5.... Good size, nice bed, nice window out onto main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you again. I would like you to mention room 6 when you return, this room will be available from Sun 30th June and has had a face lift! New carpets new decoration and a great light airy feel. Breakfast is now being served at Alchemist tapas bar and restaurant in the gorgeous new dining room so you may notice a few improvements! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    80
    29
    9
    13
See reviews for
35
137
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Warm friendly family run hotel. Breakfast was amazing set you up for the day. Sarah has not been there long but has made some updates already. Hotel is one street away from centre of town, we found ten pubs within about 1/2 mile of hotel, all did a good selection of real ales and food. Will we return? For sure. car park opposite hotel cost £2 from 4pm till 10am.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babydarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
When you decide to return come to Alchemist for some tapas and a complimentary bottle of wine. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed overnight for work.

Great location for getting out and about in Skipton, which is a lovely place.

Hotel was tucked away above a few shops. The entrance was cluttered with building materials and it seemed quite unwelcoming as you walked in. The room however, was comfortable and clean.

It was a little dated but a great value stay and a good night's sleep. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments and patience with the tonne of tiles stacked in the entrance of the hotel! We had a delivery of bathroom tiles (enough for 10 bathrooms and 10 floors) and I had to wait for help to get them upstairs. The entrance is now clear thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as was having a night out round skipton and was only hotel with rooms available !
It's undergoing refurbishment at the moment the new owners are trying to make a real go of it ! The hotel is old and tired so the refurb will be welcome !
The rooms are a lovely size and very warm , yes the tvs are small and dated but who god away to watch a tv anyway !
The bathroom is in need of the refurb but was all very clean !
The breakfast was beautiful no complaints
Overall we paid £50 b&b which was perfect clean room comfy bed and nice breakfast what more do u need even if it is dated !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobygrace3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Many thanks for the kind comments, please come and try room 6 after the 30th June. This room has had a refurbishment, I have also opened Alchemist tapas bar and restaurant see the photographs to see the new breakfast room. As time goes on we will be refurbishing all of the bedrooms. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at The Unicorn Hotel for 2 nights. The best part of the stay was the fantastic cooked breakfast. This was so filling that we didn't need any lunch! The room was very big and the hotel was full of character. Great location in the centre of Skipton with some free parking by the hotel, but also a pay and display car park across the road charging just £2 to park overnight from 4pm to 10am. Great value for money considering this is a less expensive option in Skipton. I would return to this hotel if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Warm friendly greeting from Sarah upon arrival, room 11 very clean and comfortable a fantastic breakfast , super location night club next door but never heard any noise.Will definatly be going back and would recomend it to our friends.Good luck to Sarah in all you do.Thanks for a lovely relaxing weekend.Jackie and Steve H

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you it was very nice meeting you both, next time you come to stay there are two cocktails waiting at the new bar for you. We have a great chef serving authentic Spanish food I hope you give it a go.Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 3 x couples the place was very clean and very welcoming Sara was very helpful and friendly the breakfast was out of this world was well needed after a good day drinking and a good nights sleep will certainly be going back booked the rooms through late rooms.com got them for £45 for 2 with cooked breakfast

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 was very big clan and very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrestonSunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your great comments we very much hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.2 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Craven Heifer
The Craven Heifer
#10 of 33 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Property: The Unicorn
Address: Devonshire Place | Keighley Rd, Skipton BD23 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn offers 4* bed and breakfast accommodation in Skipton. We are located conveniently for the town centre and have a selection of well thought out comfortable rooms all with en suite bathroom and new furnishings throughout. Guests are welcome to use the free WiFi and all rooms now have free SKY and Movies as standard. All rooms have an iron, board, hairdryer, towels, shampoo, conditioner, bath/shower gel,handwash,vanity kit,complementary drinks tray with tea coffee and a bottle of water per guest. We aim to accommodate all requests and look forward to your enquiry, the Unicorn offers a good value choice for your stay in Skipton, full details can be found on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Skipton
The Unicorn Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing