We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect inexpensive overnight stay”
Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Unicorn
Ranked #5 of 33 Skipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York,England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect inexpensive overnight stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

very friendly Sara, room nice big bright and clean. Very comfy beds (new mattresses I think). No noise from outside to worry about. Bang smack in the middle of Skipton and a triple room for 50 quid. Can't go wrong. Room 3 is airy and spacious with windows to two sides. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrT1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your positive comments it was great to meet you all and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay,we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    80
    29
    9
    13
See reviews for
35
137
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My partner and I spent two weeks at this hotel with our dog, the staff were very welcoming and friendly and it has a nice and relaxed atmosphere, the breakfast served here was lovely with a wide variety of choice. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to skipton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you Tara it was great to meet you and I have a feeling our paths will cross again! I hope everything is going well hello to Mark and Molly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

In the throws of being updated by new owner's. Clean, friendly ran hotel, breakfast to die for. Central location. Market in the town three day's a week. Park for £2 opposite hotel from 4pm till 10am next morning. Lots of pubs selling many real ales, We had an amazing week, Will be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanetteAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your great review and I am happy to hear that you will be coming back. I have opened the Tapas bar and restaurant across the road and would like to offer you a complimentary bottle of wine on your return.Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a one night with Sarah at the Unicorn, a warm friendly hotel. Our room was adequately furnished with a full en-suite bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and you only had to ask if there was anything else needed. Sara is running the Hotel with a supportive team behind her and making the necessary changes as she goes along, at the same time will be opening a bar/restaurant across the road and good luck to her!!

The breakfast was superb, a large plateful that sets you up for the day.

Despite the Hotel being on the maon street it was not too noisy at night and there is parking available on the side streets around it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waldershelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
It was great to meet you and I look forward to your return and having a fantastic meal cooked by our new Spanish chef Julian Franco...thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
762 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday of The Skipton Canal Festival. We wanted some inexpensive accomodation so we could meet with friends at the event and we were very happy with what we got. We had a lovely comfy bed and the room was very quiet. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were very accommodating and friendly. The entire place was spotlessly clean.
It is very centrally placed for exploring the area. We parked short term in the bus station car park opposite while we unloaded the car then moved the car to a long stay car park. The chances of getting anywhere free that weekend was going to be slight and so we really did not mind.

The room we were in was a bit of an odd mixture of styles. The walls had a slightly dated peach wallpaper with a border and the light fittings fell in with this style but it was as if an attempt to update the room had been made by adding modern dressings - Black silk chrysanthemums on the window cill, bejewelled black bedside lamps with co-ordinating cushions and throw, canvas art on the walls of the New York skyline. I do not mind either style. One is a bit dated (but was still clean) the other ultra modern. The problem is they clashed! Perhaps they were about to redecorate the room? I just found it rather unusual but you don't see any of it when you are asleep and I slept very well during my stay so that is all that mattered.

Room Tip: We were at the back. it was quiet. We heard other guests discussing how noisy the street had been wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments I totally agree! Please take a look at the restaurant that I have recently refurbished to get a feel for my style and the overall feel that I would eventually like to bring to the Unicorn. I have a lot of plans for the hotel and look forward to putting them into place. Thank you again for all of your lovely comments, where we are lacking in some decor we try to make up for in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A very cheap bed and breakfast in the heart of Skipton.

We had room 5 which as £60 quite for the night including breakfast.

Clean

Great Breakfast

Superb Location

Friendly Owners

Warm

Comfy Bed

Larger than Average Room

However:

No parking but we did manage to park on the street outside.

Cold Water in Bathroom labelled "not for drinking" so you have to use the bottled water found on the landing.

Room a little "tired" with wallpaper coming away and very few finishing touches.

Overall:

We would stay again... This is good value for money.... But you may prefer something a little more upmarket for a special event.

You get exactly what it 'says on the tin!'

Nice and friendly budget B and B with young owners who make you very welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed a the front of the hotel in room 5.... Good size, nice bed, nice window out onto main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you again. I would like you to mention room 6 when you return, this room will be available from Sun 30th June and has had a face lift! New carpets new decoration and a great light airy feel. Breakfast is now being served at Alchemist tapas bar and restaurant in the gorgeous new dining room so you may notice a few improvements! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Warm friendly family run hotel. Breakfast was amazing set you up for the day. Sarah has not been there long but has made some updates already. Hotel is one street away from centre of town, we found ten pubs within about 1/2 mile of hotel, all did a good selection of real ales and food. Will we return? For sure. car park opposite hotel cost £2 from 4pm till 10am.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babydarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Owner at The Unicorn, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
When you decide to return come to Alchemist for some tapas and a complimentary bottle of wine. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.2 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Craven Heifer
The Craven Heifer
#10 of 33 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Property: The Unicorn
Address: Devonshire Place | Keighley Rd, Skipton BD23 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn offers 4* bed and breakfast accommodation in Skipton. We are located conveniently for the town centre and have a selection of well thought out comfortable rooms all with en suite bathroom and new furnishings throughout. Guests are welcome to use the free WiFi and all rooms now have free SKY and Movies as standard. All rooms have an iron, board, hairdryer, towels, shampoo, conditioner, bath/shower gel,handwash,vanity kit,complementary drinks tray with tea coffee and a bottle of water per guest. We aim to accommodate all requests and look forward to your enquiry, the Unicorn offers a good value choice for your stay in Skipton, full details can be found on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Skipton
The Unicorn Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing