We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Unicorn
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Skipton)
US$146
LateRooms.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pinfold(Skipton)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Napier's(Skipton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
165
100
33
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
100
33
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky tvopposite the bus stationcar parkcentral locationsingle roomtea and coffeelong staycomfy bedthis lovely hotelflights of stairswould stay againtown centrehearty breakfastiron and ironing boardpubs and restaurantsno liftplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked an overnight stay as a midweek treat. I suspect the owners have not been here that long as there is ongoing work taking place. However this is to vastly improve a tired building and everywhere was clean. Our room (5) was perfectly adequate with a spare single bed to compliment our double. Shower was a little low due to sloping ceiling so had to kneel to wash my hair!
We booked online as advertised as 'pet-friendly'. Sign outside states 'No Pets'. When I queried this it appears an old sign & pets really are welcome. However it would help to notify the hotel in advance so the appropriate room can be made available (ours had a new carpet but our Springer had just been cut & managed to behave herself well).
Bed comfy.
Breakfast excellent with choice of cereals & cooked food which was plentiful.
Give these people a bit of leeway because of the improvements which will make this a really excellent, centrally-situated hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin_and_Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just awful from start to finish. See pictures of the room (hovel). Couldn't get away fast enough In the morning especially after they had ran out of breakfast so all that was on offer were eggs and toast or packet cereals that had been out since we arrived the previous afternoon. We asked for scrambled eggs on toast which was microwaved. The only marginally good bit was that the young lad serving at breakfast was nice and friendly. We asked for our money back for breakfast at reception (as you had to pre book breakfast for an extra £10) and she said ill give you half of it like she was doing us a favour!! Shes lucky that we didnt ask for the whole cost of the stay!! Just close the doors owner, your place is awful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MissMeadows1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your comments however this is a very unfair review. The Unicorn hotel has recently had an ownership change and is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, before and after photographs can be seen on our website and very exciting changes are taking place. The hotel has suffered from neglect in the past and we are doing all that we can to rectify problems as quickly as possible. The room in question is a double and due for redecoration next week, we fully accept that there are improvements to be made and hope that you take a look at the website and constantly updated photographs to see the exciting results.

The room was let for a very cheap price to reflect this. This customer did not complain about the room and when asked if they had enjoyed their stay said yes. Unfortunately due to coming down to breakfast very late cooked breakfast was limited however cereal, toast, filter coffee and scrambled eggs were cooked on request. We would like to point out that the scrambled eggs are cooked fresh to order in a pan with butter and NEVER microwaved, we have received a previous review stating that they were the best ever tasted. We pride ourselves on providing a fantastic fresh to order breakfast and have received many compliments as such.

It is difficult to describe how a scathing review such as this leaves all of the staff at the Unicorn feeling when we are putting so much effort into making it a success and a welcoming friendly place to stay in Skipton, however we will not disheartened and continue to work hard and bring the hotel back to glory from previous neglect. We have hundreds of happy returning customers and this is far more important to us than a negative review from one customer who suggests that we simply close the doors. As a small family run business we will continue to provide the best service possible and ourselves can not wait for the refurbishment to be complete, have a look at the website and judge for yourself the Unicorn is a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Skipton and would consider going back again. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had room 11 which was at the top and round the back, it was noisy on the Saturday night but fine on the Sunday. The room was large and spacious, but the curtains were ripped and the fan did not work in the bathroom. We were aware that it was in need of refurbishment and the new owner said it is a slow business as they are trying to do a room at a time. I am sure it will look lovely once it is all finished.
You do have to go up a flight off stairs to reach the reception, so not very good if you suffer with leg or back problems.

The breakfasts were very good and offer plenty of choices. Overall I would give the hotel a good and would stay their again. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean_and_R0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away to coincide with the Tour de France going through Skipton. This was to be the 50th birthday present for my partner. The booking was made one year in advance. Less than two weeks prior to our weekend away, the hotel emailed to say our booking was cancelled as the room was no longer available at the rate I had booked it. The email further said I could rebook the room, but at a much increased rate (and a 3-night minimum stay). A disgraceful way for a hotel owner to behave and this completely ruined my long planned present to my partner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

This unfortunate event was unavoidable and we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment. We would like to offer a free night in one of our refurbished rooms by way of an apology in the future, please drop us an email if you would like to book and check availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed in July for a few nights, first impression is quite bad, badly damaged carpet on the stairs up to the reception.

Slightly baffled that the parts that were not ripped and torn did look quite new. The room was in need of an update, the toilet leaked, the bath panel wasn't attached, shower holder was broken.

It is worth mentioning, that whilst we were there they had some new beds delivered, so perhaps they are currently in the process of updating. The "staff" were friendly and helpful, but it was hard to tell who the staff were or if they were just helpful guests.

The location is super, your right in the heart of the town center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews