We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location..good price...amazing breakfast”
Review of The Unicorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unicorn
Ranked #6 of 32 Skipton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at the Unicorn for 4 nights, we were a little dubious after reading some of the reviews on here, however after reading the glowing reports on their website we decided to book...mainly due to the price and location.

What a pleasant surprise! The hotel is a lovely old building with character and a warm homely feel. We were welcomed by a very helpful young man on reception who gave us lots of information regarding where to eat and how to access the wi-fi. The room we stayed in was room number 3, it was spotlessly clean, newly decorated with sheets and towels to die for!

Decided to book breakfast on arrival, very reasonable at £5 and a fantastic selection all freshly cooked and delicious, this led us to book breakfast for every morning (Tip:try the waffles)

If we were to be picky we would say that the bathroom does need a bit of attention, some of the tiles looked a little worse for wear but for £45 a night we cant complain. The new owners explained that the hotel is undergoing a big refurbishment but this can only be done bit by bit and from what we have seen so far this could be the place to be in Skipton.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back next year. If you are looking for 5* luxury then this is not the place for you, but if you want a warm welcome, great breakfast at a reasonable price then this is the hotel of choice. Thanks again for a lovely stay, next time we will bring the dog

Room Tip: Book through their website. You can see and choose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MetalMick2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Unicorn Hotel.Our room was room 10, very spacious, bed was comfy and lots of coffee, tea and biscuits provided. Staff were very friendly. Awesome breakfast for £5. Great location and car was safe and secure in public car park across the road, paid £2 to park from 4pm to 10am. The only downside were the amount of stairs to reception, which didn't bother us but would be a problem for those who are less mobile.All in all we had a great stay and would love to go back again,

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noggis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked an overnight stay as a midweek treat. I suspect the owners have not been here that long as there is ongoing work taking place. However this is to vastly improve a tired building and everywhere was clean. Our room (5) was perfectly adequate with a spare single bed to compliment our double. Shower was a little low due to sloping ceiling so had to kneel to wash my hair!
We booked online as advertised as 'pet-friendly'. Sign outside states 'No Pets'. When I queried this it appears an old sign & pets really are welcome. However it would help to notify the hotel in advance so the appropriate room can be made available (ours had a new carpet but our Springer had just been cut & managed to behave herself well).
Bed comfy.
Breakfast excellent with choice of cereals & cooked food which was plentiful.
Give these people a bit of leeway because of the improvements which will make this a really excellent, centrally-situated hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Colin_and_Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just awful from start to finish. See pictures of the room (hovel). Couldn't get away fast enough In the morning especially after they had ran out of breakfast so all that was on offer were eggs and toast or packet cereals that had been out since we arrived the previous afternoon. We asked for scrambled eggs on toast which was microwaved. The only marginally good bit was that the young lad serving at breakfast was nice and friendly. We asked for our money back for breakfast at reception (as you had to pre book breakfast for an extra £10) and she said ill give you half of it like she was doing us a favour!! Shes lucky that we didnt ask for the whole cost of the stay!! Just close the doors owner, your place is awful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank MissMeadows1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your comments however this is a very unfair review. The Unicorn hotel has recently had an ownership change and is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, before and after photographs can be seen on our website and very exciting changes are taking place. The hotel has suffered from neglect in the past and we are doing all that we can to rectify problems as quickly as possible. The room in question is a double and due for redecoration next week, we fully accept that there are improvements to be made and hope that you take a look at the website and constantly updated photographs to see the exciting results.

The room was let for a very cheap price to reflect this. This customer did not complain about the room and when asked if they had enjoyed their stay said yes. Unfortunately due to coming down to breakfast very late cooked breakfast was limited however cereal, toast, filter coffee and scrambled eggs were cooked on request. We would like to point out that the scrambled eggs are cooked fresh to order in a pan with butter and NEVER microwaved, we have received a previous review stating that they were the best ever tasted. We pride ourselves on providing a fantastic fresh to order breakfast and have received many compliments as such.

It is difficult to describe how a scathing review such as this leaves all of the staff at the Unicorn feeling when we are putting so much effort into making it a success and a welcoming friendly place to stay in Skipton, however we will not disheartened and continue to work hard and bring the hotel back to glory from previous neglect. We have hundreds of happy returning customers and this is far more important to us than a negative review from one customer who suggests that we simply close the doors. As a small family run business we will continue to provide the best service possible and ourselves can not wait for the refurbishment to be complete, have a look at the website and judge for yourself the Unicorn is a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Skipton and would consider going back again. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had room 11 which was at the top and round the back, it was noisy on the Saturday night but fine on the Sunday. The room was large and spacious, but the curtains were ripped and the fan did not work in the bathroom. We were aware that it was in need of refurbishment and the new owner said it is a slow business as they are trying to do a room at a time. I am sure it will look lovely once it is all finished.
You do have to go up a flight off stairs to reach the reception, so not very good if you suffer with leg or back problems.

The breakfasts were very good and offer plenty of choices. Overall I would give the hotel a good and would stay their again. .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean_and_R0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away to coincide with the Tour de France going through Skipton. This was to be the 50th birthday present for my partner. The booking was made one year in advance. Less than two weeks prior to our weekend away, the hotel emailed to say our booking was cancelled as the room was no longer available at the rate I had booked it. The email further said I could rebook the room, but at a much increased rate (and a 3-night minimum stay). A disgraceful way for a hotel owner to behave and this completely ruined my long planned present to my partner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara L, Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

This unfortunate event was unavoidable and we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment. We would like to offer a free night in one of our refurbished rooms by way of an apology in the future, please drop us an email if you would like to book and check availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed in July for a few nights, first impression is quite bad, badly damaged carpet on the stairs up to the reception.

Slightly baffled that the parts that were not ripped and torn did look quite new. The room was in need of an update, the toilet leaked, the bath panel wasn't attached, shower holder was broken.

It is worth mentioning, that whilst we were there they had some new beds delivered, so perhaps they are currently in the process of updating. The "staff" were friendly and helpful, but it was hard to tell who the staff were or if they were just helpful guests.

The location is super, your right in the heart of the town center.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skipton hotels
1.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
834 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pinfold
The Pinfold
#11 of 32 in Skipton
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#18 of 32 in Skipton
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Address: Devonshire Place | Keighley Rd, Skipton BD23 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Skipton
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn offers 4* bed and breakfast accommodation in Skipton. We are located conveniently for the town centre and have a selection of well thought out comfortable rooms all with en suite bathroom and new furnishings throughout. Guests are welcome to use the free WiFi and all rooms now have free SKY and Movies as standard. All rooms have an iron, board, hairdryer, towels, shampoo, conditioner, bath/shower gel,handwash,vanity kit,complementary drinks tray with tea coffee and a bottle of water per guest. We aim to accommodate all requests and look forward to your enquiry, the Unicorn offers a good value choice for your stay in Skipton, full details can be found on our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Skipton
The Unicorn Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing