We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“16 happy legs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
frieman
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“16 happy legs”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Located on the side of the Leeds to Liverpool canal we all found Niffany an ideal site for the Dales . You can walk into Skipton town in around 25 minutes or head the other way to Gargrave around 4 miles will take around 80 minutes along the tow path . The upside down accommadation gives great views of the canal and beyond . All bedrooms are clean and good sized with comfortable beds . Upstairs theres a large lounge with multifuel stove and reclining sofa,s the kitchen follows suit been well appointed along with bathroom with bath and shower .Outside there is small paved area with seating ,gas BBQ,small raised grass area and parking for two cars
Visited Malham cove , great for walking and lunched at The Lister Arms (Butchers board recommended) . Keelham farm shop a short drive is good for your groceries or eating out . Also on site are a row of three new cottages and a caravan and camping site . Thoroughly enjoyed our stay with two generations and two dogs

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Holiday Let”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Niffany Barn is situated on a working farm next to the Leeds Liverpool Canal. The property is new and well furnished. It is well equipped and the owners are pleasant and helpful. the property allows holidaymakers to take their pets. The lounge has a multi-fuel stove which makes the room warm and cosy. The heating system is efficient and keeps the property warm. It is an ideal spot for a holiday in the Yorkshire Dales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition of the property and the friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prchezza
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the Dales”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Clean, comfortable and welcoming. The barn is on a working farm next to the Leeds & Liverpool canal. The walk into Skipton (30 mins) along the towpath is picturesque and interesting. The property has the bedrooms on the ground floor with the large lounge and kitchen / dining room upstairs, which might deter the infirm. Strong wi-fi signal. Niffany Barn is close to the Skipton by-pass which makes it ideal for exploring the Dales without having to drive through the town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the sheltered courtyard in the sunshine. Feeding the hens.
Liked least: Noisy fridge-freezer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Niffany Barn, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It is lovely to hear you had everything you needed to hand inside the property and that the situation was also to your liking, being able to walk through beautiful scenery to reach Skipton sounds great! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KLD965
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Niffany Barn is a great place to stay - the accommodation is spacious, comfortable and very well equipped (even a tea cosy!) with magical views of the canal and surrounding countryside. We particularly appreciated the milk in the fridge when we arrived so we could have a cup of tea before venturing out to the supermarket, the lazyboy sofas and armchair and the very comfortable mattresses. The location is also good - 15-20 minutes walk along the towpath into Skipton meant that we could leave the car behind on a couple of days when we went to Skipton Castle and woods and when we got the train to Saltaire and Leeds. Easy access to lots of interesting walks and the Dales. Only slight downside was that only two of us could use wifi at one time and wifi on laptop seemed very slow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely views, comfy beds
Liked least: Wifi access
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pandaroo2...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb addition to a fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I booked Niffany Barn for three nights to stay in the region for our son's wedding celebrations. The Barn is absolutely superb, bigger than the photos make it look. The beds were comfortable and the lounge was made to lounge around! We had intended going out and about, but we didnt, we stayed in (when we werent at the wedding etc)
I would thoroughly recommend Niffany Barn both for the accommodation but also the friendliness and approachability of the owners. They allowed us to stay in their lovely cottage and just relax. We felt secure even when the house was unlocked. We had no need to worry about anything.
Waking to the sound of the cows was an added bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crazylady...
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be back!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

This lovely idyllic cottage was perfect for us in the town of Skipton. The 3 bedroomed cottage was very well maintained and was exceptional fully equipped. We stayed for a weekend in November and the weather was fabulous. We arrived on the Friday night to be greeted by Jennette who explained where everything was and we even phoned for directions as there was a diversion on the road which was no trouble for her.

We had a brilliant first evening playing the games that were in the cupboard and sitting in front of roaring log fire. It was so quiet we all over slept on the Saturday but who needs to pop to the shops for breakfast when you can pop to the small out house and buy via the honesty box fresh eggs that had been laid that morning!!

The cottage was immaculately clean, very well presented and full of local information of things to do, places to see and eat if you didn't fancy cooking in the well equipped kitchen. There was even a phone number for a baby sitting service. We enjoyed a trip on a barge down the canal and also trip to Bolton Abbey during our stay. Both we found out about from the information in the cottage.

There is a couple of large supermarkets a 5 minute drive away and the center of Skipton which includes a market and the Castle. The views are amazing we watched the barges up and down the canal.

All in all we couldn't have asked for a more warm welcome and a beautiful clean very well equipped cottage. We are booking next year in the spring so that we can see the new born lambs and enjoy the BBQ that is outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things!
Liked least: Nothing the place, location and everything in the cottage was everything we could have asked for!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing