We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Eatery”
Review of The Gamekeepers

The Gamekeepers
Ranked #38 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Branston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Eatery”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We called in on spec for a bite to eat and very glad we did. We opted for the Gamekeepers Inn burger and what a burger it was. All homemade with rustic chips, salad and coleslaw. This is the best burger I have ever tasted and the chips were to die for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snapplegrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Big Portions”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you want big portions and no nonsense food then this place is for you. The conservatory dining room is noisy and this place is not the most sophisticated place to eat but it is friendly and it's honest no nonsense food and the portions are very big. House wine is £13.50 a bottle

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

we popped by just to have a look when we were in the area. Our self catering facilities were awful so we had to basically eat out all the time. We were surprised to find a dog friendly pub in the immediate area we were staying in and it was refreshingly ventilated too. We ordered two salmon and prawn salads and a bowl of hand cut chips - both brilliant! The ingredients were so obviously fresh and there was lots of it! Very satisfying. Excellent value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visit the gamekeepers on a regular basis, the food is always good and well presented.
The staff are really helpful and friendly especially Jenny and Naomi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“return visit disappoints”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I lived in Threshfield until 6 months ago and used to eat at The Gamekeepers frequently , thoroughly enjoyed our food with no complaints. After 6 months we decided to book and revisit last night and were very disappointed. The staff were excellent and the atmosphere and setting was very enjoyable. However for the first time the food was a let down. The haddock dippers as usual were lovely and tasty but that was where the best food of the meal ended.
My main of smoked haddock and spring onion fishcakes were dry and chewy the pea puree making it slightly even more so. My husbands main of chicken was also dry and appeared cooked too long . My dessert of strawberries with meringue nests was chidlike. cheap packet meringues, squirty cream and a few halved strawberries with a shop bought squeezy chocolate sauce., the ladies on the next table commented on how huge the dessert was which it was indeed but I prefer quality not quantity..
This review is not typed to put other people off going put in the hope the chef realises that mediocrity at these prices is not good enough.
It was a good gesture to knock the price of dessert and coffee off the bill but would much rather have paid for a nicer meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele209940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gamekeepers also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Threshfield, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Gamekeepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing