We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap food”

Mastab's Indian Resturant & Takeaway
Ranked #21 of 151 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Full of loud drunks and lairy women,food good,atmosphere bit roudy not where you would want to take your wife .lads curry ok

Helpful?
1 Thank Addingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    35
    10
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and plenty of it.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked the restaurant as it was Christmas week and we understood the restaurant to be quite small. We are glad we did as it was busy at 7.15 when we arrived. We were welcomed and given a quiet table in the corner. Whilst we had a short wait for our meals we were given complimentary popadoms and dips. When our meals arrived we were not disappointed. My husband had Chicken Tikka Rogan Josh and I had Chicken Tikka Biriyani both were excellent and we agreed that they were the best we have ever tasted. The final bill was very reasonable and good value. Service was excellent with the waiters being particularly attentive.
If I have one criticism it would be the toilet facilities. The ladies toilet would have benefitted from a good clean and better lighting. If it is the intention of the management to open the restaurant as a café serving tea and cakes during the day I would suggest that this latter issues needs addressing as there are others like myself who judge an establishment's cleanliness by the state and presentation of their rest rooms/toilets this is particularly the case with the older generation. Having said this I could not fault the food or service of this establishment and would most certainly recommend it to friends and family. We will be back to sample more delights when next in Skipton.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevgPreston_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“super curry”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

one of the best curries in a long time superb staff well presented and polite plenty of choice and not rushed very good value only a small restaurant but very well run asked the important question is everything ok with the meal it deffo was will be going back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willywoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best curry for a long time”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Went to Mastab's, after reading Trip Advisor reviews, with my wife and son. I was pleased to see a very varied menu with dishes not on menus I'd seen before. I chose their special curry, my son chose the Tajmahal Tava curry, and my wife opted for a less adventurous chicken tikka. We all thoroughly enjoyed our choice (and have already booked a table for Christmas Eve). The service was polite, friendly and attentive and the cost was very reasonable.
Already looking forward to next week!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is how to do customer service”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The food here is by far the best curry in town fresh flavors best nans ever, really reasonably priced but they have such great customer service and make you feel like they are really pleased to see you, we were next to a really loud rowdy bunch of scots and the waiter become aware of this and moved us with out us mentioning it. You feel you have had a lovely meal out here and im not surprised its number 1 in skipton well deserved !! we will be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mastab's Indian Resturant & Takeaway also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mastab's Indian Resturant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing