We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Mastab's Indian Resturant & Takeaway
Ranked #20 of 149 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Asian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi, Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

After reading such good reviews on here we decided to try Mastab's one Saturday evening, we booked a table for 7pm and we arrived on the dot and were shown to a table. Considering the reviews it was quiet with only another couple and a large party of about 10 people in who had not yet had their starters.

We enjoyed reading the extensive menu and made our selection and placed our order looking forward the tasty meal we were anticipating.

Basically it look over 50 minutes for our food to arrive by which time I was beginning to get bored of the musak and had nearly eaten my knuckles, it was far too slow, the reason? Too many take aways meals being collected.

They need to decide if they are a takeaway or a restaurant and if both give priority to people sat in their establishment waiting to be fed.

When the food came it was fine, tasty but the chicken was a bit tough.

When I place an order at Akbar's in Bradford they note the time and tell you it will be 15 - 20 minutes and usually deliver quicker, that's the sort of time this place should be aiming at or at least let customers know there is a delay.

We will not be trying it again I'm afraid.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pro-Sport-Shooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    34
    10
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best curry in Skipton”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I often get take aways and also eat in, the food always excellent and the staff are just the best.and now they have a great lunch time special menu

Just try it and see

Helpful?
1 Thank AJBOULD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best curry house in Skipton”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've been eating here for several years and the quality of food and atmosphere have both always been excellent. There's a good range of dishes including their own signature dishes and it's always seemed good value. We'd certainly recommend Mastabs.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin_and_Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We visited Mastabs on our last night in Skipton, we had been on a weeks canal boat holiday. On first impression it was a very typical curry house, but the welcome we received soon stood it apart from the rest. our host could not have been more accommodating he suggested the food we had and we could not have been more pleased with his choice. We had a full selection of the menu offered which was superb. To top off the experience the bill for the evening was £60 including 2 rounds of drinks.
Thanks for such a great evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Check out Mastabs for fantastic curry and super-friendly hosts!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We chose Mastabs because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint! Delicious food - including some unusual specialties and great side dishes - and fantastic service from super-friendly manager Chan and his staff. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mastab's Indian Resturant & Takeaway also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mastab's Indian Resturant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing