We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer o'clock ”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #27 of 137 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Choose from six cask conditioned, well kept ales. The only pub in Skipton to always keep Theakson’s Old Peculier, plus a warming Dark Mild. Delicious homemade food – two meals for £10 at lunchtime 11.00 until 2.30. Sandwiches, baguettes and jackets for the perfect working lunch and evening meals 5.30 until 9.00. A warm and friendly welcome from Calvin and the team, at the top of the High Street next to the Church and the castle.
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

Cracking location. Lots of outside seating and a good pint of beer. You can sit in the sun and people watch. Not much more I can say apart from give it a try.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Expatmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2019

couple of pints there during our visit to skipton.a lovely bar staff pleasant.the bar itself is very interesting with nooks and crannies and odd corners.the problem is the prices i was charged £5,70 for a pint of lager and half a cider.this was the most we paid anywhere during the week.we did not bother going back at these prices

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank colin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2019

Called for lunch. Food was OK. people near us seemed to enjoy their fish and chips.
But the menu, like the rest of the place, seemed dreary, out-dated, uninspired and much in need of a rethink, a boost. There are lots of cafes and pubs in Skipton and I'm not sure the reason for the apparent complacency of the Castle Inn . No reflection on the pleasant staff. Maybe we didn't see it at its best.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnfX1850LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019

Went specifically for the Sunday night quiz while staying in Skipton, friendly young lady behind the bar, nice pint of Blonde (forgotten name of it), didnt strike me as being as pricey as other reviewers reckon.
Really good pub quiz, with a fun stand up bingo game, loved the fact the quiz master does it himself and doesnt use a company, great bonus of food at the break, pizza, chips, sweet potato fries.
Excellent evening will definitely come again, as frequent visitors to Skipton
By the way, we were equal second in the quiz, and lost out on the tie break!!! NEXT TIME!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

We were staying at a local campsite so walked into Skipton for food & drinkies.
Sat outside with the dogs on a lovely sunny day watching the world go by.
Not a huge menu but much better than your usual pub grub.
Accommodation is available & it looked a great place for a few nights in Skipton

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Ush66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.