We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #27 of 137 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Choose from six cask conditioned, well kept ales. The only pub in Skipton to always keep Theakson’s Old Peculier, plus a warming Dark Mild. Delicious homemade food – two meals for £10 at lunchtime 11.00 until 2.30. Sandwiches, baguettes and jackets for the perfect working lunch and evening meals 5.30 until 9.00. A warm and friendly welcome from Calvin and the team, at the top of the High Street next to the Church and the castle.
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

One of the loveliest pubs around. Delicious food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Secret shoppers paradise ☺️

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank UKmerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2019 via mobile

Quite a large pub just off the Main Street, with lots of outside tables. The food was very good (my wife and I both had ciabatta with different fillings) but expensive, and the drinks were extremely expensive. On a sunny day all was well until I used the toilets. The gents toilets had no toilet paper in them and the doors had no locks and so couldn’t close. Disgusting.

Date of visit: August 2019
2  Thank 82SteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2019

We had the foresight to book a table for when we had visited the next door castle. It was a good job we did! The place was buzzing with a friendly atmosphere. The efficient staff showed us to our table and tooka drinks order. Great beer! The food was also very good and we shall return some day soon

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

Cracking location. Lots of outside seating and a good pint of beer. You can sit in the sun and people watch. Not much more I can say apart from give it a try.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Expatmackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019

couple of pints there during our visit to skipton.a lovely bar staff pleasant.the bar itself is very interesting with nooks and crannies and odd corners.the problem is the prices i was charged £5,70 for a pint of lager and half a cider.this was the most we paid anywhere during the week.we did not bother going back at these prices

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank colin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.