We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of visits here... always good...”
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #46 of 150 Restaurants in Skipton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bay Horse offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of visits here... always good...”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are always visiting Bay Horse either for Special Occasions we have never yet had a bad experience here.. we have always found the waitresses so friendly and there is always something on the menu to choose from... lovely to have somewhere near with such a wonderful setting

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    104
    46
    33
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge
Level Contributor
329 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Slow service and poor food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We ate here on a Sunday evening. We had to wait quite few minutes before anyone acknowledged us and were then shown to a table. Drinks were ordered and arrived promptly then we ordered food. The food took a long time to arrive, more than 30 minutes and yet the pub was quiet. My husband had the chicken, leek and ham pie but when the usual flaky pastry lid was taken off there were 2 small pieces of chicken, no ham and some sauce. The pie dish was barely half full. I had the sunday platter which had 3 minute pieces of meat- beef, pork and turkey. The potatoes, parsnips and carrots looked and tasted as though they had been kept warm for a long time. There was also a pig in blanket and the bacon blanket was hard. Everything was swimming in gravy. My daughter chose just to have the pate and the dish was only half full with a thick layer of butter on top, 3 tiny pieces of toast and no salad garnish. Whilst we had waited for the meal my daughter went to the toilet and came back to say the ladies was dirty. We called the waitress over and told her that the toilets were unflushed and there was toilet paper not only on the floor in the cubicles but also on the floor outside. She went to the bar to report this and we saw her go into the toilets but we both went after the meal and they were just the same.
I asked to speak to the manager but he did not seem to be available so the young man behind the bar came and spoke to me. He apologised and assured me that the veg were not kept warm but I can assure you they were unless the chef has a very peculiar way of cooking them. He also told us the toilets were checked but as I pointed out, we had reported the toilets on our arrival and they were in the same state when we were leaving so no-one had done anything at all.
This place is overpriced for what you get and the quality is poor. The manager needs to take responsibility and ensure that the staff do their jobs properly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice setting by canal, dreadful music!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Moored near the Bay Horse and wandered in for early evening meal, nice pint of summer lightening for me and Torres esmeralda for Mrs C, very pleasant chatty waitress/bar staff (Emma i think), very good fish and chips, and good cheese pie for Mrs C.
Nice clean toilets, good for boater ( always use somebody elses!!)

Only downside absolutely awful piped music!! And I mean awful! All Vintage Inns suffer with this, Come on Vintage management do something about it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lincolnhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stopped here for a meal and eat outside by the canal it was a lovely day and a lovely setting the weather was great watched the boats go by the food was nice and a good price and a good pint of John Smiths we will go here again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, just don't be in a hurry”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had not looked at the reviews for the Bay Horse Inn prior to visiting on Friday evening and again on Saturday lunch time, however I have to agree that the food service is a little on the slow side.

That said, however the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were a party of 11 on Friday evening and they quickly sorted us out a table large enough to seat us in a private area.

The menu choices were good and the food was well presented and of good quality. We had a fair mix of dishes and there were no complaints. The pork belly was a popular choice for the main course, well cooked tender and not too fatty.

On Saturday, 7 of us arrived for lunch and again a suitable table was put together for us. We ate from the lite bites/lunch menu and again the food was well presented and of a good quality. I had the brie and bacon sandwich, which was well presented and for the price good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Argonaut61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Horse Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Keighley, West Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing