We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some flexiblity would have been welcome”
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #60 of 162 Restaurants in Skipton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Bay Horse offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in on Father's Day. They only had a fixed price three course menu or the individually priced vegan menu available. As we didn't fancy any of the starters on the fixed price menu we asked whether we could substitute the soup from the vegan menu. We were emphatically told no that was not possible it was either the fixed price menu or the vegan menu. As a result we left, they lost custom and another local restaurant gained custom. A business which show total inflexibility over a bowl of soup does not deserve any custom. I will be avoiding Vintage Inns in the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterG44310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Morning PeterG44310. Thanks for your feedback comments. All menu items are priced individually but the limitations were on the specific dishes for the fixed price offer.. maybe we got our wires crossed trying to explain ourselves? Nevertheless, apologies for the confusion caused and Best Wishes going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited while on the canal, they were very dog friendly even offering our pooch some doggie snacks . My wife and I both had steaks, her serloin with peppercorn sauce and me ribeye. Both were lovely and mine was done to perfection. My brother in law had fish and chips which although was nice he said he wasn’t wowed by it. I have to say that on the whole it was a lovely meal with lovely friendly staff.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Always fancied a meal here so we booked for Father's Day when we arrived it wasn't that busy we got sat at our table straight away. Staff were quiet nice some nicer than others we ordered lamb koftas and deep fried calamari both came and were very nice Holden didn't have starters we had quiet a waiting for our main I had pie which was huge with spring onion mash and greens the mash was quiet dry husband had prawn and lobster linguin which he said was bland daughter had wage burger which she said was really nice and the other daughter had hunters chicken with gammon which she also said was really good,they also had puddings which ended up with 3clean plates the place its self had no atmosphere and could of done with a bit of back ground music but would go back

Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Vicki B, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Bay Horse, Bradley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Friday afternoon and walked up from Skipton town centre. The temperature was just warm enough to sit out with the dogs (although dogs are permitted inside on the tiled areas).

We ordered our usual chicken and bacon sandwiches at the bar. Service was good and food arrived in quickly. Water was provided for the dogs. Reasonably priced and a lovely setting.

The food perhaps wasn't quite as good as previous visits but it was hot and plentiful.

Slight grumble that no one checked our table or cleared our plates (but then there was only us sat outside). Toilets seem to be lacking a little - toilet roll holders were broken although toilet roll was provided, and the hand wash dispensers were broken - again soap was provided but maybe a bit of maintenance wouldn't go a miss.

Overall cheap and cheerful and will probably try again.

Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Heard about their homemade Yorkshire puddings and had to find out for myself and I was not disappointed at all even had extra ones their Sunday dinner is awesome everything homemade and fresh not frozen warmed up plastic tasting like some places !!!! My son had fish and chips and ate the lot and he is hard to please friendly happy homely place
We will be back in the summer relaxing in the beer garden watching the barges going by with Yorky pud in my hand and a cool beer in the other .

Thank hopalong2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Bay Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hopalong2018, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Bay Horse, Bradley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay Horse Inn also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing