We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Lunch special”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I booked a table for two for a Christmas Lunch. The price was really reasonable so what did we get? Perfect meal, tablecloth, crackers, poppers even a small Christmas tree on the table. Waiter service brilliant will book next year But will visit often during the coming new year
Take my advise and give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Booking a room associated with a pub is always a gamble. Some pay less attention to their accommodation than others. I'm pleased to say that the Red Lion was a lovely discovery. Centraly located in Skipton, it was easy to find. Though there is no parking associated with the pub, there is a large public car park to the rear that only costs a couple quid to stay in overnight. The staff were bright, friendly and very helpful. The landlord was the first to tell me that there would be some street noise in the morning as my room fronted the High Street, so there was no rude suprise when I heard the market setting up the next day.

Though there was a variety of places to eat in the town centre, I chose to dine at the pub and was very glad I did. The food was plentiful, reasonably priced and well prepared. The bar served real ales which also suited me. Breakfast in the morning was equally nice.

The room was clean, bed comfortable and the bathroom large and warm. There were no frills but at the same time, it wasn't stark.

If you're passing through or doing business in Skipton, I'd recommend the Red Lion. The parking and street noise seemed minor issues when I got such a bargain for great location, good food and a comfortable stay

Recommendation: The Russian Tea Rooms on the other side of the High Street. Unique place for afternoon tea, with over 150 varieties.

Room Tip: Prepare for some street noise, but nothing too disturbing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JammyWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stopped here for a night on our way to the Lakes District. It was cold and wet and we had not booked somewhere to stay in advance. How lucky we were to find this gem. The staff member who showed us our room was very helpful, the room was very walm and welcoming after a long drive, the beds very comfortable and the bath very warm. Just what you need!
Breakfast was brilliant - juice, cereal toast and a huge cooked breakfast.

We would happily recommend this pub to any weary travellers looking for somewhere to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Super village pub good food good atmosphere and ambience. The pub had a a welcoming fire pleasant and helpful staff and a really varied menu. So much so that my friend and I booked for a celebrity Christmas meal

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We arrived late on Friday night and were greeted by a very helpful member of staff who showed us to our room and gave us all the information we requested. Unfortunately we were too late to eat in the pub itself but one of the bar staff walked us to another restaurant and pointed out a few other options to us on the way, he really put himself out and it was a cold night!
We were out very early on the Saturday morning so were unable to have breakfast, but the management offered us a complimentary meal which we hope to take them up on in the future. The room was basic and the lighting was a bit dim but apart from that, it was warm, comfortable and we all slept well. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were on offer and the TV worked a treat, which was all we wanted. Even though the pub was very noisy the room was far enough away that it didn't intrude too much. Staff were all very friendly, so top marks for that.
We were woken by the sound of church bells on the Sunday morning which made a nice change!

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#5 of 32 in Skipton
288 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 1 in Cracoe
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: 27 High Street, Skipton BD23 1DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Skipton
Price Range: £85 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing