We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”
Review of Cock and Bottle

Cock and Bottle
Ranked #27 of 151 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: A traditional town center pub dating back to the 1600's. Serving a great selection of cask ale, wine and spirits, and home cooked food. A warm welcome and a friendly relaxed atmosphere. A large secluded beer garden. Dogs always welcome
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We called in fir a pub lunch. Vegetarian options on the menu were very limited. The menu had yow set meals for £9.95, there was on,y vegetable curry as the veggie option. I asked whether the cheese mix wrap could replace the vegetable curry, but the kitchen staff informed the attendants this was not possible, which I felt was very uncooperative given they only had one veggie option which my friend did not like. Should always have at least a choice of two

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    78
    23
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paltry Portions”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

When you order two meals for £9.95 you have an idea what you are about to get, basically a childs portion. What you don't expect is a babies portion. For my meal of Chicken Tikka masala I received 8 chips, two tablespoons of rice and the smallest portion of Masala that wouldn't even fill a baby let alone a child. This was our first trip to Skipton, and while it is a nice place, of all the places to eat we had to choose the Cock and Bottle. Would not return there, and would certainly not eat there. You have been warned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scary6mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

No pretentiousness, just good beer, good service, good atmosphere, exactly what a pub should be. Probably the best pub in skipton.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chefy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rock on”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The night we were in there was a really great singer belting out good old rock music & the locals were good to talk to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Place..........”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Cock & Bottle pub, is very welcoming, Staff and Richard & Sarah who run this lovely place is just how a pub should be run. As regards the last two comments, we cannot understand were they are coming from as we have eaten here on many occasions and the food is faultless, quality and value for money (Yorkshire style)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieloo186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cock and Bottle also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cock and Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing