We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuppa Time On A Sunny Day”
Review of Coffee and Clay

Coffee and Clay
Ranked #8 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Coffee and Clay combines an imaginative paint-a-pot studio with a delicious cafe and party venue. We're a welcoming and fun place for decorating pottery, whether you're aged one, or a ninety one! Coffee and Clay is the perfect place to treat the children, celebrate with friends, spend time with colleagues or unwind after work! We also pride ourselves on having a relaxing café downstairs with great homemade food. We've also got a conscience and only serve fairtrade tea and coffee, and use eco friendly products when we can. Coffee and Clay also has an aim to act as an additional community resource for schools and other educational establishments, charities and social groups. Already a host of special projects, after school clubs, and sections of the national curriculum have been successfully delivered in a host of schools across both Yorkshire and Lancashire. PRODUCTS AT A GLANCE: - Children' Pottery Painting Parties - Pottery Painting - Drop in & Paint (No Booking Required) - Baby Hand & Footprints - Ladies Nights (Grown up Evenings) - Adult Parties, Celebrations and Anniversaries - Schools, Fundraising, Nursery & Toddler Groups - Business Events & Office Parties - Personailsed Gifts for Special Occasions - Wedding, Christening, Celebratory Signed Plates - Gift Vouchers
Restaurant details
Description: Coffee and Clay combines an imaginative paint-a-pot studio with a delicious cafe and party venue. We're a welcoming and fun place for decorating pottery, whether you're aged one, or a ninety one! Coffee and Clay is the perfect place to treat the children, celebrate with friends, spend time with colleagues or unwind after work! We also pride ourselves on having a relaxing café downstairs with great homemade food. We've also got a conscience and only serve fairtrade tea and coffee, and use eco friendly products when we can. Coffee and Clay also has an aim to act as an additional community resource for schools and other educational establishments, charities and social groups. Already a host of special projects, after school clubs, and sections of the national curriculum have been successfully delivered in a host of schools across both Yorkshire and Lancashire. PRODUCTS AT A GLANCE: - Children' Pottery Painting Parties - Pottery Painting - Drop in & Paint (No Booking Required) - Baby Hand & Footprints - Ladies Nights (Grown up Evenings) - Adult Parties, Celebrations and Anniversaries - Schools, Fundraising, Nursery & Toddler Groups - Business Events & Office Parties - Personailsed Gifts for Special Occasions - Wedding, Christening, Celebratory Signed Plates - Gift Vouchers
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We sat outside at the front of the café, only three tables(very clean) there but as on the main street it is to be expected.
We did not eat here today but if the tea is anything to go by we will be eating next time we visit.
The staff were friendly and polite and there was a bowl of water for dogs to quench their thirst !

Just one thing that the owners ought to be wary of, the glass jars that sugar etc. are in, they really need to be secure as on the next table to us someone knocked it off and glass was everywhere, it was cleared up quickly but a dog could cut its paws if not all cleared up !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Its great you found my staff friendly and polite and that there was a bowl of water for dogs to quench their thirst !

Thanks for the feedback on the Glass Jars also, we now use tin pots instead.

Many Thanks

Nils

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We popped in for something to eat following an enjoyable visit to Skipton Castle.

As the name implies, this café doubles as a craft workshop, and the plates used in the café are suitably decorated.

The food was of a good standard, and served promptly. The premises have a nice atmosphere and the staff were polite. We would visit again.

Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Such kind feedback and a great explanation on the fact we do double as a pottery painting studio and party venue upstairs.

Sorry for delay in replying but still updating social media skills.

Many Thanks

Nils

Coffee and Clay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was visiting Skipton this weekend with my 2 children and a friend, and stumbled across this cafe. The menu is simple, mainly sandwichs and jacket potatoes, but the food we ordred was very nice, and the presentation was good too. It is a little expensive, but I am use to light lunches for 4 being between £24 - £35 which this feel right in the middle of at £32.50. It was very busy at lunch time, so guess thats also a good sign. If you don't want food that is a big plate dinner than this cafe would suit. The staff were friendly and only wish I had had time to try out my painting skills on the pottery!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaqualineclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Manager at Coffee and Clay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Thanks for your positive review, we look forward to seein you again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was a hot day so we went in for a drink as the style and décor looked interesting. It was very nice inside with a good atmosphere but we just wanted milkshakes which were expensive and not fresh so we were really disappointed as it looked like a place worth entering. We didn't eat but the food we saw come out did look nice. There is a pottery workshop upstairs which did look good fun for kids and families.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank KTY457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Glad you liked our place , hope you have time sometime in the future to try our pottery panting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We've never done anything like this before and in all honesty my wife kind of dragged us in (our kids are more 'arcade' types).
We only had drinks but food is also served downstairs. We went into the workshop upstairs and did some painting.
By the end of it, we realised we'd been an hour and a half! It's definitely good fun and I would recommend it.
The only minus points are that it is quite expensive and also you have to wait up to a week for you pottery to be fired, but this wouldn't deter me from recommending it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank timmble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nils P, Owner at Coffee and Clay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Hi Timmble
Thanks for your review, were so glad you enjoyed your time with us . I know its annoying to wait a week , but we always say "Good things come to those who wait " - and we loved yours !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee and Clay also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Coffee and Clay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing