We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu”

Hemingways The Tea Shop
Ranked #8 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Skipton
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good menu”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great milkshakes, wonderful selection of speciality teas and plenty of choice on the good menu. Piano player sometimes also.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank janelledarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    54
    16
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltaire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food well worth your money!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beautiful outer seating overlooking the Craven Court shopping arcade as well as lovely innards, the food is brilliant value for money, generously portioned and is one of the few places I've ever been that serves delicious vanilla lattes! Service is brilliant and the atmosphere is wonderful and generally very tranquil. The brie, mushroom, walnut and pesto hot wrap is to die for and the portion is very generous with a crisp salad (which also includes fruit which sets it apart from other tea rooms and restaurants) and gorgeous chips.
I go regularly now as the staff are lovely and the food is to die for, what else can I say?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Welcoming cafe”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This cafe is situated in the shopping arcade overlooking the mall itself. We ordered toast and crumpets. These were both good (although we didn't expect to get 2 slices of toast or 2 crumpets) and coffees. Service was good and there was a pleasant relaxing atmosphere to the place. Nice cafe to visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluexandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DURHAM CITY, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Inside a shopping arcade, this 10am to 5pm has a surprising 70+ tables, spaced out over two terraces and three rooms. It is beautifully clean and well decorated (at the same time as the mall, I suspect). The owner was attentive and the first time we went no less that four members of staff approached our table on seeing we had arrived. The service was good, but the food was excellent. The special of the day was quite special; beautifully presented and clearly made by a chef who knew his food.

I cannot think of anything it lacked, as a daytime venue.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javalava101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice lasagne”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I ordered a toasted scone and was assured that as the scones were fresh from the oven, they'd still be warm. I was also unable to get a soya latte, but this was fine, especially as a very kind gentleman came and explained to me why there was no soya milk. However, when the scone arrived, it was stone cold, and didn't really taste like a scone either, and I was unable to finish it. My partner on the other hand received a very nice lasagne. It was pricey though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hemingways The Tea Shop also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Gargrave, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hemingways The Tea Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing