We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

1 of a party of 8 just returned home after weekend break.Herriots must be complimented on the high level of service provided by all the staff, always available and nothing to much effort.The food can easily be described as superb, good choice well cooked and presented and a reasonable quantity,a good selection of fairly priced wines complimented all the above.The only down side was a slight aroma of drains in the reception and bar areas,may be something to do with its excellent position on the side of the canal and only 10 mins stroll to the very picturesque village centre.All in party had a great time and have added Herriots to our favourites list.Well done all the staff we will see you again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new annex overlooking the canal if you do not mind noise from the function room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night for a wedding (in Skipton, but not at the hotel) and were immediately met with very friendly staff.

The hotel seems popular as a wedding reception venue (a bride arrived as we were checking in!) and the dining room had been very well dressed for the occasion.

Our room (room 2) was pleasant enough. Clean, tidy and with a very comfortable bed. Could have done with a little more room in the wardrobe (my better half never packs light, but I struggled to hang the limited change of clothes I had) and the hunt for the tea and coffee facilities was a challenge (top drawer of the dressing table, for those of you who stay in the future).

The shower room (no bath) was compact and bijou but served its purpose. Wasn't too sure about the notice that "we have plenty of hot water, but please allow the tap to run for 3 minutes" but I suppose it allows you to make a cup of tea whilst your waiting for the shower / tap to get to the correct temperature!!

We didn't have chance to sample the Rhubarb restaurant due to our commitments at the wedding, but would have happily given it a go.

The cooked breakfast was excellent - and again the staff were friendly, polite and attentive without being overbearing.

The hotel itself it opposite the train station - ideal if you're not driving to Skipton - and only 2 minutes walk from the centre, a walk that can be taken along either the main road or the route I'd recommend along the canal towpath, which takes you to the shops / cafes / pubs and Skipton Castle.

All in all, a very pleasant stay, in a very pleasant town. Would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJS_7_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were a party of 6 who stayed 2 nights at the Herriot. The decor was striking, lots of mirrors gave the impression of space, and unusual colour combinations.
We arrived Friday to find there was a wedding party and breakfast next morning was crowded and a tad chaotic. Our order was overlooked so the meal took rather longer than we would have liked. The next day was quieter and we were able to have a table for 6. The location was good as 2 of our party came on the train. It was also just a short walk along the canal into Skipton. All in all a lovely stay.


.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppyalice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed two nights midweek Room 14. Totally happy with everything. Room had big comfy bed, tea/coffee making etc and a big corner bath to soak in after a long walk.Ideally situated for walking into town along the towpath ( 5minutes).All staff were pleasant and friendly. Stayed on one of their packages Stay and Dine and very good value for money. Breakfast was tasty and lots of choice,Evening meal had a nice selection of starters mains and puddings. Bottle of house wine included, Chose Merlot which was very drinkable! Free wi fi also. Have visited here in the past couple of years and it remains my hotel of choice in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights on their "Stay, Wine & Dine" deal for which we paid £95 per night. We really enjoyed our stay and thought that it was great value. We stayed in room 23 which had a lovely view of the canal, the room was clean, warm, modern and comfortable. The holder for the shower head was broken on the first night but I reported it to reception next morning and it was replaced by the time we returned to the hotel that evening. The location of the hotel could not be better being right across the road from the station, very convenient for our lovely train trip to Carlisle over the dales. It is only a short walk along the canal path into the centre of Skipton where there is a market 4 days a week and the lovely Skipton Castle,
The cooked breakfast each morning was very good and the evening meals in the Rhubarb Restaurant were very good. Our stay was enhanced by all the friendly staff we encountered but we would like to make a special mention for Andrew our waiter each evening what a hard working young man and a real asset to your team.
We will definitely return to this hotel again and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batterboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed over for a weekend break in a canal side room.Was on top floor(room 23) so had a lovely view of canal and narrowboats.Room was clean and decorated nicely.We had a meal in the hotel on the Saturday night which was perfect,we chose the set menu, two courses and a bottle of wine for two people at £29.95 good value! Breakfast was very tasty and service excellent.Overall a very pleasant stay made all the more relaxing by friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is one of those lovely pleasant surprises that don't come around often enough! We were looking for an inexpensive last minute mid week getaway. We had decided on Yorkshire but were thinking about the York area. When nothing came up there we decided on Skipton and giving the Dales a look round. Initially we were going for a short break in another hotel but when we had to change dates at the last minute, we discovered Herriots offer of 2 nights bed and breakfast in a superior room with dinner included on one night with a free bottle of wine. On arriving we were immediately taken by the well thought out decor which was clean tidy and very charming. The room was a very good size with a huge comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom with a large corner bath for two! All of the staff were very friendly and welcoming and reception gave us some complimentary homemade biscuits (made by the hotel chef) to have with our very welcome cup of tea. We booked our table for dinner at 7.30pm that evening and went for a walk along the canal which was at the back of the hotel. Skipton was a wonderful and unexpected surprise too. Everyone we passed on our stroll said hello, the town was very clean and well looked after and it appeared to us like a Yorkshire version of Venice! Back to the dinner at Herriot's, we were offered a choice of a free bottle of house red, white or rose. We ordered the red which was a very pleasant Italian Merlot served at the right temperature. We decided to have a main course and sweet, we could have had a starter and main instead as part of the deal. I had red snapper on a herby mash with a gorgeous peach salsa, it was excellent. My partner had peppered mackerel with baby new potatoes and a salsa verde which was cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. The sweets were equally good and also homemade and beautifully presented. We finished with a lovely proper cappuccino which was served in our room at our request together with some more of the chef's delectable biscuits. The next morning we went to the dining room for our breakfast, we opted for the traditional Yorkshire cooked one which was as good as we have had anywhere. The bacon and sausages were locally sourced and certainly tasted that way. Every thing was very high quality and cooked perfectly, served by very friendly staff who were very attentive with supplies of lovely coffee and good quality white and brown toast. The breakfast certainly set us up for a days walking the picturesque dales. All in all the stay at Herriot's was a very pleasant unexpected surprise, a quality hotel with excellent food and friendly staff but at a budget price. We can't recommend a stay there highly enough!!

Room Tip: All seemed fine to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing