We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“xmas dinner fab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“xmas dinner fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Well not a lot more I can say except Fantastic. Brilliant staff Viv ( the owner) lovely lady , a family run business and nothing is to much trouble. Xmas dinner lovely had a fab day, we will be there next year. Thank you herriots...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    240
    74
    36
    20
See reviews for
79
421
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have had 2 family celebrations there during 2013 and both have been excellent. We have used rooms on both as well as the conservatory, restaurant and even had an outdoor BBQ. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for Viv. They always give the personal touch and even some of our more 'high maintenance, Relatives and friends have had nothing but positive comments to make. Of course any hotel can have an off day but when reading some of the petty comments on the site it dies not give you the true picture of herriots and in particular the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here for one night mid-week for Christmas shopping trip with my Mum on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for £129. We arrived too early to check in (3pm check in), but we were able to leave our bags with Reception and decided to have lunch in the bar.
We were a bit surprised that our two pots of tea and two club sandwiches and chips came to £30 as it wasn't anything particularly special. I was also disappointed that the lovely looking big chunky chips were under cooked and slightly raw in the middle.
When we got up to our room we were really pleased with it, very spacious with lovely high ceilings and old original fire place. We had a good nights sleep in comfortable beds. There were no parties taking place in the function room which our room overlooked, I would be concerned about staying in that room if there, as I think the noise from a disco etc would be a problem.
Our evening meal was very good (apart from the under cooked chips again), the award winning pie was lovely, but couldn't finish it all as it was huge!
Breakfast in the morning was lovely with a continental buffet and hot breakfast cooked to order which meant it was lovely and fresh. Would recommend the eggs benedict, yummy :)
Friendly, helpful staff and overall a nice stay. Would recommend for a short stay in Skipton and also a good base for travelling to other areas in North Yorks as it's directly across the road from the train station.

Room Tip: I would check if there was a party on in the function room and make sure your room didn't overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel may need a lick of paint in certain places... But its very clean, has a fantastic menu and above all the staff cannot do enough for you. Excellent hotel, great value, fab location. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireFanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Recently stayed for 5 nights on a B & B basis. From the time of booking right through to checkout, all the staff were helpful, pleasant and informative.
We stayed in a classic double room overlooking the courtyard. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We were informed that if anything else should be required then all we had to do was ask.
Can't comment on the evening meals as we only had breakfast. This was excellent. The service was good, the cooked breakfast was hot, well presented with good ingredients. The buffet had a good selection.
The hotel is well situated with a short attractive walk via a canal toe path into central Skipton. Would definitely stay again. All staff brilliant but special thanks to Janice who could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had a fantastic night on Saturday. 28 people for a Christmas do. The welcome was lovely, atmosphere nice in bar, food good, party games were great fun and the disco was great. Pitched perfectly to our group and very well organised. Many thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

stayed hear on Saturday night for my friends birthday party, it was brilliant! the party was in the function room it was stunning
rooms was clean,staff was lovely and breakfast was relay nice, i could not wish for anything better
I will be returning

Room Tip: canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983Flora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#4 of 33 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Property: Herriots Hotel
Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing