We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The place to go to if you're staying in Skipton"”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The place to go to if you're staying in Skipton"”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed there for a week. The staff is really helpful. The place is cozy and quiet. The food is delicious, they have a variety of options for breakfast, and if you're going for dinner, the steak is really good.

Room Tip: "Rooms over-looking the train station are spacious and well-furnished"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslamAshrafAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    248
    75
    37
    20
See reviews for
84
436
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. Our room over-looking the canal was lovely. We hate in the restaurant both evenings, the food was superb. First evening we had the 6 course taster menu(fabulous & delicious). Second evening we had a 3 course meal, again delicious, we had the belly pork as main and the desserts we very big/yummy. Maria the waitress both evenings was very pleasant, smiley, friendly and efficient. Both bar staff each evening were polite and friendly. I would say the only down side was we were given 1 biscuit each to have with our room for the whole weekend, which was given on arrival(found this a little strange & would have liked a couple more biscuits for a whole weekend). Also the décor in the corridors was a little tired, discoloured and tatty. Maybe just a little touch of paint. Conservatory was a little cold also but I'm guessing in the summer will be lovely. Would have liked a little more friendlier on arrival and more information. Overall we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Over looking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent two nights. Really friendly and welcoming. Room spotless. Beef and ale pie best I have tasted. Plenty of parking. Skipton itself very quaint. Strongly recommend as a base if touring in Yorkshire

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just back after a lovely weekend at herriots fantastic hotel very welcoming friendly staff ,excellent food from bar and resturant,breakfast was great and excellent clean spacious room.thanks again for making our stay so relaxing.will be back again in july this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojomini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent spot just a couple of minutes walk from town centre and all its amenities. Helpfully staff, nice bar and also has a restaurant. Our room was well appointed even with an iron and ironing board if that's your thing on holiday (not mine :-D). Can highly recommend and we will visit again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnston364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Got a double standard room only on offer on laterooms.com at less of the price than the local Premier Inn and all of the other B&B's in Skipton. The room was a good size, decorated in a contemporary but classical way in keeping with the building. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and plenty of towels were provided. The bed and bedding were all really good quality. Great locations, free parking and friendly staff. Would definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spandorexxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Excellent night. Great food, superb entertainment.
This place never lets you down. Hats off to Dave, Viv and all the team.
Always friendly and welcoming and set in an ideal location, next to the railway station and
close to the Town Centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#2 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Property: Herriots Hotel
Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing